

# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY

#### **Hansard Verbatim Report**

No. 1 — December 4, 2024

Published under the authority of The Hon. Todd Goudy Speaker



### Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan

Thirtieth Legislature

#### STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY

James Thorsteinson, Chair Cut Knife-Turtleford

Tajinder Grewal, Deputy Chair Saskatoon University-Sutherland

> Kim Breckner Saskatoon Riversdale

Sally Housser Regina University

Hon. Terry Jenson Warman

Darlene Rowden Batoche

Kevin Weedmark Moosomin-Montmartre

## STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY December 4, 2024

[The committee met at 08:54.]

**Procedural Clerk**: — Good morning, everyone. Welcome to the Standing Committee on the Economy. I'm Miranda Gudereit, the committee Clerk. It is my duty as committee Clerk to preside over the election of a new Chair. I'd like to remind members of the process.

I will first ask for nominations. Once there are no further nominations, I will then ask a member to move a motion to have a committee member preside as Chair.

I will now call for nominations for that position. I recognize Minister Jenson.

**Hon. Terry Jenson**: — Thank you. I nominate MLA [Member of the Legislative Assembly] James Thorsteinson.

**Procedural Clerk**: — Minister Jenson has nominated MLA Thorsteinson to the position of Chair. Are there any further nominations? Seeing none, I would now invite one of the members to move the motion. Minister Jenson.

**Hon. Terry Jenson**: — That James Thorsteinson be elected to preside as Chair of the Standing Committee on the Economy.

**Procedural Clerk**: — It has been moved by Minister Jenson:

That MLA Thorsteinson be elected to preside as Chair of the Standing Committee on the Economy.

All in favour of the motion?

**Some Hon. Members**: — Agreed.

**Procedural Clerk**: — All opposed? I declare the motion carried and invite MLA Thorsteinson to take the Chair.

Chair Thorsteinson: — Well thank you, everybody. I'm James Thorsteinson, MLA for Cut Knife-Turtleford, and I am happy to be the committee Chair.

Welcome to the Standing Committee on the Economy. Our first item of business today is the election of a Deputy Chair. I'd like to remind members of the process. Pursuant to rule 123(2), the Deputy Chair must be an opposition member.

I will first ask for nominations. Once there are no further nominations, I will then ask a member to move a motion to have a committee member preside as Deputy Chair.

I will now call for nominations for that position. I recognize MLA Mowat.

Vicki Mowat: — I nominate Tajinder Grewal.

Chair Thorsteinson: — MLA Mowat has nominated MLA Grewal to the position of Deputy Chair. Are there any further nominations? Seeing none, I would now invite one of the members to move a motion. MLA Mowat.

Vicki Mowat: — I move:

That Tajinder Grewal be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on the Economy.

**Chair Thorsteinson**: — It has been moved by MLA Mowat:

That MLA Tajinder Grewal be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on the Economy.

All in favour of the motion?

**Some Hon. Members**: — Agreed.

Chair Thorsteinson: — Opposed? Carried.

The next item of business on our agenda is the establishment of a steering committee. I would ask a member to move the steering committee motion. I recognize Minister Jenson.

**Hon. Terry Jenson**: — Thank you, Mr. Chair. I move:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of the Chair and Deputy Chair; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair; that the presence of all the members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting; and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on the Economy be permitted on the steering committee.

**Chair Thorsteinson**: — Minister Jenson has so moved. Is that agreed?

Some Hon. Members: — Agreed.

**Chair Thorsteinson**: — Carried. We have one document to table: ECO 1-30, Saskatchewan Research Council: Responses to questions raised at the April 9th, 2024 meeting. I recognize Minister Jenson.

**Hon. Terry Jenson**: — I now move that this committee adjourn.

**Chair Thorsteinson:** — Minister Jenson has moved that this committee now adjourn. Is that agreed?

**Some Hon. Members**: — Agreed.

**Chair Thorsteinson:** — This meeting stands adjourned to the call of the Chair.

[The committee adjourned at 08:59.]