## STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN CORPORATIONS December 4, 1998

### MINUTE NO. 62 9:00 a.m. - Room 10

1. **PRESENT**: Ms. Lorje in the Chair and Members Aldridge\*, Boyd, Johnson, Kasperski, Murray\*, Toth, Trew and Wall\*.

Mr. Aldridge substituting for Mr. McPherson

Ms. Murray substituting for Mr. Kowalsky

Mr. Wall substituting for Mr. Renaud

#### **Provincial Auditor's Office**

Wayne Strelioff, Provincial Auditor Mobashar (Bashar) Ahmad, Executive Director Robert (Bob) Black, Director, Value-for-Money Karim S. Pradhan, Principal

# **Appointed Auditors**

Brian Drayton, Price Waterhouse Coopers, Auditor for Saskatchewan Water Corporation Jamie Wilson, KPMG, Auditor for Workers' Compensation Board

2. The Chair tabled the following document:

CCC 131/23 – Crown Investments Corporation: Correspondence from Dwain Lingenfelter, Deputy Premier and Minister responsible for Crown Investments Corporation to Pat Lorje, Chair, Standing Committee on Crown Corporations, dated November 19, 1998, re: Acquisition of Western Canadian Beef Packers Inc. (significant transaction)

3. The Committee initiated its consideration of the annual reports and financial statements of Workers' Compensation Board for the years ended December 31, 1996 and 1997, with an opening statement by the Minister. The Minister then responded to questions put by Members.

Hon. Joanne Crofford, Minister responsible Stan Cameron, Chairman of the Workers' Compensation Board Peter Federko, Chief Executive Officer

- 4. The Chairman made an opening statement.
- 5. The appointed auditor, Mr. Wilson, addressed the Committee with respect to the audit report contained in the annual reports and financial statements. Mr. Pradhan provided an overview of the Provincial Auditor's review of the annual reports and financial statements.
- 6. The Board officials and auditors responded to questions put by Members.
- 7. The Committee recessed from 10:20 a.m. until 10:45 a.m.
- 8. The Provincial Auditor responded to questions put by Members. Committee Members then resumed their questioning of the corporate officials.

9. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That the Standing Committee on Crown Corporations conclude its review of the annual reports and financial statements of Workers' Compensation Board for the years ended December 31, 1996 and 1997.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

- 10. The Committee recessed from 12:07 p.m. until 1:30 p.m.
- 11. The Committee initiated its consideration of the annual report and financial statements of Saskatchewan Water Corporation for the year ended December 31, 1997, with an opening statement by the president.

Ron Styles, President

Wayne Phillips, Vice-president of Finance and Corporate Services Division

Wayne Dybvig, Vice-president of Water Resource Management Division

Bryan Ireland, Director of Corporate Development

Dave Schiman, Manager of Financial Planning

- 12. The appointed auditor, Mr. Drayton, addressed the Committee with respect to the audit report contained in the annual report and financial statements. Mr. Black provided an overview of the Provincial Auditor's review of the annual report and financial statements.
- 13. The corporate officials responded to questions put by Members.
- 14. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That the Standing Committee on Crown Corporations conclude its review of the annual report and financial statements of Saskatchewan Water Corporation for the year ended December 31, 1997.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

15. The Committee considered a draft of its Ninth Report to the Assembly, a copy of which was tabled:

### CCC 132/23 -Standing Committee on Crown Corporations: Draft Ninth Report

It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That this Report be presented to the Assembly at the earliest appropriate time.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

16. It was moved by Mr. Trew:

That this Committee do now adjourn

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

17. The Committee adjourned at 2:09 p.m. to the call of the Chair.			
Manager A XX		Det I - '	
Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk		Pat Lorje Committee Chair	