STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN CORPORATIONS April 17, 1997

MINUTE NO. 17 9:00 a.m. - Room 10

1. **PRESENT**: Ms. Lorje in the Chair and Members Bjornerud, Bradley, Draude, Hamilton, Heppner, Johnson, Kasperski, Langford and Trew.

Ms. Draude substituting for Mr. McLane

Provincial Auditor's Office

Wayne Strelioff, Provincial Auditor Brian Atkinson, Executive Director

2. The Committee initiated its review of Saskatchewan Power Corporation including the annual report and financial statements for the year ending December 31, 1996 and subsidiary agencies, with opening remarks from the Minister.

Hon. Eldon Lautermilch, Minister Responsible

John R. Messer, President and Chief Executive Officer

Carole Y. Bryant, Executive Vice-President, Corporate and Business Services

Michael J. Hogan, President and Chief Executive Officer, SaskPower Commercial

Ken H. Christensen, Vice-President, Finance and Information Systems

Dr. Tony E. Harras, Vice-President and General Manager, System Operations and Decision Support

Jack B. Huntington, (Acting) Vice-President and General Manager, Customer Services

Rick A. Patrick, Vice-President and General Manager, Power Production

Roy O. Yeske, Vice-President and General Manager, Transmission and Distribution

Judith S. Fox, Executive Coordinator, Office of the President

Ronald E. Ellis, Ernst & Young, Auditor Rupert C. James, Ernst & Young, Auditor

- 3. The corporate auditor addressed the Committee in respect to the audit report presented in the annual report and financial statements. Mr. Strelioff provided an overview of the Provincial Auditor's review of the annual report and financial statements. The auditors responded to questions put by Members.
- 4. The Minister and corporate officials responded to questions put by Members.

. . . . 2

| 5. | It was moved by Mr. Trew: | |
|-------------------|---|-----------------|
| | That this Committee do now adjourn. | |
| | The question being put, the motion was agreed to. | |
| 6. | The Committee adjourned at 10:36 a.m. | |
| | | |
| | | |
| Margaret A. Woods | | Pat Lorje |
| Committee Clerk | | Committee Chair |