STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN CORPORATIONS January 14, 1997

MINUTE NO. 13 2:00 p.m. - Room 10

1. **PRESENT**: Ms. Lorje in the Chair and Members Belanger, Bjornerud, Bradley, Goohsen, Hamilton, Johnson, Kasperski, Langford and Trew.

Mr. Belanger substituting for Mr. McLane Mr. Goohsen substituting for Mr. D'Autremont

Other Members

Mr. D'Autremont Mr. Heppner Ms. Stanger

Provincial Auditor's Office

Wayne Strelioff, Provincial Auditor Judy Ferguson, Executive Director

2. The Committee resumed its consideration of the annual report of SaskTel (Saskatchewan Telecommunications) for the year ending December 31, 1995. The Chair informed the Committee that the Hon. Carol Teichrob, Minister responsible for SaskTel, was delayed. In the interim, the officials responded to questions put by Members.

Hon. Carol Teichrob, Minister Responsible Randy Stephanson, Chief Financial Officer John Meldrum, Vice-President Corporate Counsel and Regulatory Affairs Diana Milenkovic, Vice-President SaskTel Mobility Kelvin Shepherd, Vice-President Network Services Mike Anderson, General Manager Strategic Business Development Sean Caragata, General Manager Corporate Affairs Dale Baron, Manager of Financial Analysis

John R. Grossman, Deloitte & Touche, Auditor

3. The corporate auditor addressed the Committee with respect to the audit report contained in the annual reports. Ms. Ferguson provided an overview of the Provincial Auditor's review of the annual report.

. . . . 2

- 4. The Committee recessed at 3:20 p.m. until 3:30 p.m.
- 5. The Minister and corporate officials continued to respond to questions put by Members.
- 6. The following document was tabled:

CCC 29/23 - Saskatchewan Telecommunications: Responses to questions raised at the June 6, 1996 meeting regarding CCTA tenders 1995, CCTA labour costs, Real Plus Saving Plan and external investments.

7. The Committee adjourned at 5:00 p.m. until 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, January 29, 1997.

Margaret A. Woods Committee Clerk Pat Lorje Committee Chair