# STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN AND CENTRAL AGENCIES Tuesday, December 20, 2022

### MINUTE NO. 23 1:00 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Fred Bradshaw in the chair and members Ken Cheveldayoff, Muhammad Fiaz,\* Gary Grewal,\* Travis Keisig,\* Greg Lawrence, Derek Meyers,\* Erika Ritchie,\* Trent Wotherspoon,\* and Aleana Young.\*

# **Substituting Members**

Muhammed Fiaz for Steven Bonk (2:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.) Gary Grewal for Doug Steele Travis Keisig for Mark Docherty Derek Meyers for Steven Bonk (1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.) Erika Ritchie for Nathaniel Teed (1:00 p.m. – 1:59 p.m.) Aleana Young for Nathaniel Teed (2:04 p.m. – 3:38 p.m.) Trent Wotherspoon for Nathaniel Teed (3:41 p.m. – 5:07 p.m.)

# **Provincial Auditor's Office**

Tara Clemett, Provincial Auditor Trevor St. John, Deputy Provincial Auditor Jason Wandy, Deputy Provincial Auditor

- 2. The committee considered the 2021–22 SaskEnergy annual report and the 2021–22 SaskEnergy Incorporated and subsidiaries financial statements.
- 3. The Minister Responsible for SaskEnergy and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Mark Guillet, Acting President and Chief Executive Officer Christine Short, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer Kevin Adair, Executive Vice-President, Customer Service Operations Derrick Mann, Executive Vice-President, Infrastructure Delivery and Reliability

4. It was moved by Mr. Lawrence:

That the committee conclude consideration of the 2021–22 SaskEnergy annual report and the 2021–22 SaskEnergy Incorporated and subsidiaries financial statements.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 5. The committee recessed from 1:51 p.m. until 1:52 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the Provincial Auditor's 2022 report volume 1, chapter 24, SaskEnergy Keeping Existing Transmission Pipelines Operating Safely.
- 7. The Minister Responsible for SaskEnergy and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Mark Guillet, Acting President and Chief Executive Officer Christine Short, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer Kevin Adair, Executive Vice-President, Customer Service Operations Derrick Mann, Executive Vice-President, Infrastructure Delivery and Reliability

- 8. The committee concluded consideration of the Provincial Auditor's 2022 report volume 1, chapter 24, SaskEnergy Keeping Existing Transmission Pipelines Operating Safely.
- 9. The committee recessed from 1:59 p.m. until 2:04 p.m.
- 10. The following document was tabled:

Saskatchewan Power Corporation: Status update, dated December 14, 2022

CCA 24-29

- 11. The committee considered the Provincial Auditor's 2022 report volume 1, chapter 25, SaskPower Maintaining Above-Ground Assets Used to Distribute Electricity.
- 12. The Minister Responsible for SaskPower and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Rupen Pandya, President and Chief Executive Officer Troy King, Vice-President, Finance and Business Performance and Chief Financial Officer Tim Eckel, Vice-President, Asset Management Planning and Sustainability Kory Hayko, Vice-President, Transmission and Industrial Services Shawn Schmidt, Vice-President, Distribution and Customer Services

- 13. The committee concluded consideration of the Provincial Auditor's 2022 report volume 1, chapter 25, SaskPower Maintaining Above-Ground Assets Used to Distribute Electricity.
- 14. The committee considered the 2021–22 SaskPower annual report, the 2021–22 NorthPoint Energy Solutions Inc. financial statements, and the 2021 Power Corporation Superannuation Plan annual report.
- 15. The Minister Responsible for SaskPower and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Rupen Pandya, President and Chief Executive Officer Troy King, Vice-President, Finance and Business Performance and Chief Financial Officer Tim Eckel, Vice-President, Asset Management Planning and Sustainability Kory Hayko, Vice-President, Transmission and Industrial Services Shawn Schmidt, Vice-President, Distribution and Customer Services

16. The committee recessed from 2:53 p.m. until 2:58 p.m.

- 17. The committee resumed consideration of the 2021–22 SaskPower annual report, the 2021–22 NorthPoint Energy Solutions Inc. financial statements, and the 2021 Power Corporation Superannuation Plan annual report.
- 18. It was moved by Mr. Fiaz:

That the committee conclude consideration of the 2021–22 SaskPower annual report, the 2021–22 NorthPoint Energy Solutions Inc. financial statements, and the 2021 Power Corporation Superannuation Plan annual report.

- 19. The committee recessed from 3:38 p.m. until 3:41 p.m.
- 20. The committee considered the 2021–22 SaskTel annual report; the Saskatchewan Telecommunications financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the Saskatchewan Telecommunications International Inc. financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the DirectWest Corporation financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the SecurTek Monitoring Solutions Inc. financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; and the Saskatchewan Telecommunications Pension Plan annual report for the year ended March 31, 2022.
- 21. The Minister Responsible for SaskTel and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Doug Burnett, President and Chief Executive Officer Charlene Gavel, Chief Financial Officer Jamie Patterson, Associate Corporate Counsel Scott Smith, Senior Director, Finance Michelle Englot, Director, Corporate and Government Relations

- 22. The committee recessed from 3:43 until 3:46 p.m.
- 23. The committee resumed consideration of the 2021–22 SaskTel annual report; the Saskatchewan Telecommunications financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the Saskatchewan Telecommunications International Inc. financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the DirectWest Corporation financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the SecurTek Monitoring Solutions Inc. financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; and the Saskatchewan Telecommunications Pension Plan annual report for the year ended March 31, 2022.
- 24. It was moved by Mr. Grewal:

That the committee concluded consideration of the 2021–22 SaskTel annual report; the Saskatchewan Telecommunications financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the Saskatchewan Telecommunications International Inc. financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the DirectWest Corporation financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; the SecurTek Monitoring Solutions Inc. financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2022; and the Saskatchewan Telecommunications Pension Plan annual report for the year ended March 31, 2022; and the Saskatchewan Telecommunications Pension Plan annual report for the year ended March 31, 2022; and the Saskatchewan Telecommunications Pension Plan annual report for the year ended March 31, 2022; and the Saskatchewan Telecommunications Pension Plan annual report for the year ended March 31, 2022; and the Saskatchewan Telecommunications Pension Plan annual report for the year ended March 31, 2022.

25. It was moved by Mr. Fiaz:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

26. The committee adjourned at 5:07 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Anne Drake Committee Clerk Fred Bradshaw Chair