STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE

May 23rd, 2002

MINUTE NO. 8 9:01 a.m. – Room 10

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Atkinson, Bjornerud, Elhard, Forbes, Harpauer, Jones, Osika, and Weekes.

Mr. Wartman substituting for Ms. Atkinson (a.m. only)

Others Present:

Avrum Fenson, Researcher of the Committee

- 2. Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated April 12, 2002, the Committee resumed its examination of the agricultural land holding provisions as set out in the *Saskatchewan Farm Security Act*.
- 3. The following documents were tabled with the committee:

AGC 73/24 Sheldon F. Cooper: Written submission.

AGC 74/24 R. Mark Brigham: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 75/24 John R. Messer: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 76/24 Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 77/24 Larry Marshall: Written submission.

AGC 78/24 Gregg Sheppard: Written submission.

AGC 79/24 Darwin Lackey: Written submission.

AGC 80/24 Dewar Family Farms Ltd.: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 81/24 Wayne Hovdebo: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

AGC 82/24 Larry Gaucher: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

AGC 83/24 Louis Gaucher: Written submission.

AGC 84/24 Kevin Beach: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 85/24 Lorraine Arguin: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 86/24 Saskatchewan Canola Growers Association: Written submission dated May 15, 2002.

AGC 87/24 Cindy & Randy Baumung: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

AGC 88/24 Danny Rempel: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 89/24 Shawn Grice: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 90/24 Paul Gaucher: Written submission entitled "Follow-up report regarding farm land ownership legislation" dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 91/24 David Orchard: Written submission dated May 21, 2002.

4. Mr. Lee Moats, representing Ducks Unlimited Canada, addressed the Committee and, with Mr. Brent Kennedy, responded to questions.

Mr. Moats tabled the following document:

AGC 92/24 Ducks Unlimited Canada: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

5. Mr. Kyle Korneychuk, representing the Prairie Alliance for the Future, addressed the Committee and, with Mr. Roy Atkinson, responded to questions.

Mr. Korneychuk tabled the following document:

AGC 93/24 The Prairie Alliance for the Future: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

- 6. At 10:14 a.m., the Committee recessed until 10:25 a.m.
- 7. Mr. Lon Borgerson addressed the Committee and, with Ms. Val Drummond, responded to questions.

Mr. Borgerson tabled the following document:

AGC 94/24 Lon Borgerson: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

8. Mr. Tim Korol, representing Meacham Hills Forage Club, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Korol tabled the following document:

AGC 95/24 Meacham Hills Forage Club: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

- 9. At 10:59 a.m., the Vice-chair assumed the chair.
- 10. At 11:13 a.m., the Chair resumed the chair.
- 11. Mr. Norm Hall, representing Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association, addressed the Committee and, with Ms. Denise Treslan, responded to questions.

Mr. Hall tabled the following document:

AGC 96/24 Saskatchewan Young Farmers' Forum: Written submission.

12. Mr. Paul Harmon, representing the National Farmer's Union addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Harmon tabled the following document:

AGC 97/24 National Farmers Union, Region 6: Written submission dated May 23, 2002.

- 12. At 12:07 p.m., the Committee recessed until 7:04 p.m.
- 13. The following document was tabled with the committee:

AGC 98/24 Researcher to the Committee: Memorandum entitled "Reservations on land ownership attached to international agreements" dated May 22, 2002.

14. Drs. Hartley Furtan and Richard Gray addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Dr. Furtan tabled the following document:

AGC 99/24 Hartley Furtan Written submission entitled "Effects of Government restrictions on Land Ownership: The Saskatchewan Case".

- 15. At 8:04 p.m., the Committee recessed until 8:17 p.m.
- 16. Ms. Leslie Belloc-Pinder, representing the Farm Land Security Board, addressed the Committee and, with Mssrs. Vic Bruce, Dan Patterson, Bill Turner and Ms. Fern Nielsen, responded to questions.

Ms. Belloc-Pinder tabled the following document:

AGC 100/24 Farm Land Security Board: Written submission.

- 17. At 9:07 p.m., the Vice-chair assumed the chair.
- 18. At 9:20 p.m., the Chair resumed the chair.
- 19. It was moved by Mr. Osika:

That, for the purpose of discussing committee business, the Committee meet in camera.

The question being put on the motion, it was agreed.

- 20. At 9:41 p.m., the Committee continued its meeting in camera.
- 21. It was moved by Mr. Bjornerud:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

22. The Committee adjourned at 9:59 p.m. until 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday, May 29, 2002.

Viktor Kaczkowski Committee Clerk Ron Harper, MLA Committee Chair