STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE

May 22nd, 2002

MINUTE NO. 7 8:35 a.m. – Room 10

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Atkinson, Bjornerud, Elhard, Forbes, Harpauer, Jones, Osika, and Weekes.

Mr. Prebble for Mr. Osika (a.m. only)

Others Present:

Avrum Fenson, Researcher to the Committee

- 2. Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated April 12, 2002, the Committee resumed its examination of the agricultural land holding provisions as set out in the *Saskatchewan Farm Security Act*.
- 3. The following documents were tabled with the committee:

AGC 37/24 C. B. Forbes: Written submission.

AGC 38/24 Peggy Durant: Written submission.

AGC 39/24 Morris Prescesky: Written submission dated May 16, 2002.

AGC 40/24 Joyce Neufeld: Written submission dated May 16, 2002.

AGC 41/24 Murray Strain: Written submission dated May 17, 2002.

AGC 42/24 Saskatchewan Pheasants Forever: Written submission dated May 17, 2002.

AGC 43/24 Leo Kurtenbach: Written submission dated May 17, 2002.

AGC 44/24 Walter & Anne Nisbet: Written submission dated May 18, 2002.

AGC 45/24 Robert Nisbet: Written submission dated May 21, 2002.

AGC 46/24 Russell Fersch: Written submission.

AGC 47/24 Nature Conservancy of Canada, Saskatchewan Region: Written submission dated May 16, 2002.

AGC 48/24 Saskatchewan Agrivision Corporation Inc.: Written submission dated May 17, 2002.

AGC 49/24 John Cooper: Written submission.

AGC 50/24 Larry & Trudy Blenkin: Written submission.

AGC 51/24 Joel A. Hesje, Lawyer, McKercher, McKercher & Whitmore: Written submission dated May 21, 2002.

AGC 52/24 L. O. Jorgenson: Written submission.

AGC 53/24 Lorne G. Cholin: Written submission dated May 20, 2002.

AGC 54/24 Town of Shaunavon: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

AGC 55/24 National Farmers Union: Written submission from Stewart Wells, President, dated May 23, 2002.

AGC 56/24 Earl Conacher: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

AGC 57/24 Muriel Conacher: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

AGC 58/24 Jim Hawrishok: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

AGC 59/24 Rural Municipality of Weyburn: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

- 4. From 8:35 a.m. until 9:02 a.m., the Committee met in camera to discuss committee business.
- 5. Mr. Craig Docksteader, representing the Prairie Centre Policy Institute, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Docksteader tabled the following document:

AGC 60/24 Prairie Centre Policy Institute: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

6. Mr. Bob Dyck, representing Plains Agricultural Services, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Dyck tabled the following document:

AGC 61/24 Plains Agricultural Services Ltd.: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

7. Mr. Dale Ripplinger, representing the Saskatchewan Real Estate Association, addressed the Committee and, with Mr. Bill Madder, responded to questions.

Mr. Ripplinger tabled the following document:

AGC 62/24 Saskatchewan Real Estate Association: Written submission dated May 2002.

8. Mr. Bruce Osiowy, representing the Pro West Rally Group, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Osiowy tabled the following document:

AGC 63/24 Pro West Rally Group: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

9. Ms. Jo Campbell-Hipkin, representing Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association, addressed the Committee and, with Ms. Denise Treslan, responded to questions.

Ms. Campbell-Hipkin tabled the following document:

AGC 64/24 Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

10. Mr. Bob Lane, representing the Lane Realty Corporation addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Lane tabled the following document:

AGC 65/24 Lane Realty Corp.: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

- 11. At 12:24 p.m., the Committee recessed until 7:04 p.m.
- 12. The following document was tabled with the committee:

AGC 66/24 Researcher to the Committee: Memorandum entitled "FCC figures for change in Saskatchewan farmland prices" dated May 22, 2002.

13. Mr. Ken Ziegler addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Ziegler tabled the following document:

AGC 67/24 Ken Ziegler: Written submission.

14. Mr. Ross Pollock addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Pollock tabled the following document:

AGC 68/24 Ross Pollock: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

15. Mr. Michael Burgess, representing the Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Mr. Burgess tabled the following document:

AGC 69/24 Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association: Written submission dated May 22, 2002.

- 16. At 8:25 p.m., the Committee recessed until 8:47 p.m.
- 17. Ms. Marsha Cannon, representing the Action Committee on the Rural Economy, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
 - Ms. Cannon tabled the following document:
 - AGC 70/24 Action Committee on the Rural Economy: Written submission entitled "Recommendation Farm Ownership".
- 18. Mr. Dennis Lepp, representing the Saskatchewan Cattle Feeders Association, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
 - Mr. Lepp tabled the following document:
 - **AGC 71/24 Saskatchewan Cattle Feeders Association:** Written submission dated May 23, 2002.
- 19. The following document was tabled with the committee:
 - AGC 72/24 Saskatoon and District Chamber of Commerce: Written submission dated May 6, 2002.
- 19. It was moved by Mr. Elhard:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

20. At 9:38 p.m., the Committee adjourned until 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, May 23, 2002.

Viktor Kaczkowski	Ron Harper, MLA	
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair	