STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE

May 16th, 2002

MINUTE NO. 6 10:32 a.m. – Room 10

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Atkinson, Bjornerud, Elhard, Forbes, Harpauer, Jones, and Weekes.

Mr. Prebble substituting for Mr. Osika.

Others Present:

Avrum Fenson, Researcher to the Committee

- 2. Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated April 12, 2002, the Committee resumed its examination of the agricultural land holding provisions as set out in the *Saskatchewan Farm Security Act*.
- 3. The following documents were tabled with the committee:

AGC 31/24 Researcher to the Committee: Memorandum entitled "Newly-published prairie farm data from the Statistics Canada 2002 Census of Agriculture" dated May 15, 2002.

AGC 32/24 Pamela Nykolaishen, Mayor, Town of Kamsack: Written submission dated May 15, 2002.

AGC 33/24 Farm Land Security Board: Written submission entitled "Farm Ownership".

- 4. From 10:32 a.m. until 11:12 a.m., the Committee met *in camera* to discuss committee business.
- 5. At 11:12 a.m., the Committee recessed until 11:17 a.m., at which time the Committee resumed its meeting in open session.
- 6. Ms. Susan Luthje, representing the National Farmer's Union, addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Ms. Luthje tabled the following document:

AGC 34/24 National Farmers Union: Written submission dated May 16, 2002.

- 7. Mr. Paul Gaucher addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
 - Mr. Gaucher tabled the following documents:

AGC 35/24 Paul and Lisa Gaucher & Adrian Arguin: Written submission entitled "Presentation on Saskatchewan Land Ownership".

AGC 36/24 Paul and Lisa Gaucher: Written submission dated May 16, 2002.

- 8. At 11:51 a.m., the Vice-Chair assumed the chair.
- 9. At 11:59 a.m., the Chair resumed the chair.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Bjornerud:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

11. At 12:25 p.m., the Committee adjourned until 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday May 22, 2002.

Viktor Kaczk owski	Ron Harper, MLA
Committee Clerk	Committee Chair