## STANDING COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE

## May 15<sup>th</sup>, 2002

## MINUTE NO. 5 9:01 a.m. – Room 10

1. **PRESENT:** Mr. Harper in the Chair and Members Atkinson, Bjornerud, Elhard, Forbes, Harpauer, Jones, Osika, and Weekes.

## **Others Present:**

Avrum Fenson, Researcher to the Committee

- 2. Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated April 12, 2002, the Committee commenced its examination of the agricultural land holding provisions as set out in the *Saskatchewan Farm Security Act*.
- 2. The following documents were tabled with the committee:

AGC 21/24 Colby Shawn Gallagher: Written submission dated April 30, 2002.

AGC 22/24 Al Gaetz: Written submission dated May 4, 2002.

AGC 23/24 Rural Municipality of Estevan No. 5: Written submission dated May 3, 2002.

AGC 24/24 Rural Municipality of Emerald No. 277: Written submission dated May 9, 2002.

AGC 25/24 J. Porter Land Ltd.: Written submission dated May 6, 2002.

AGC 26/24 Rural Municpality of Lost River No. 313: Written submission dated May 8, 2002.

AGC 27/24 Rural Municipality of Canwood No. 49: Written submission dated May 8, 2002.

AGC 28/24 Lyle Straker: Written submission dated May 6, 2002.

AGC 29/24 Researcher to the Committee: Memorandum entitled "Hearings on the farmland ownerships provisions in Part VI of the *Saskatchewan Farm Security Act*" dated May 14, 2002.

3. Mssrs. Keith Laxdal and Darcy McGovern from the Department of Justice and Hal Cushon from the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Revitalization presented a technical briefing to the Committee and, with Mr. Dan Patterson of the Farmland Security Board, responded to questions.

4. Ms. Marilyn Braun-Pollon representing the Canadian Federation of Independent Business addressed the Committee and responded to questions.

Ms. Braun-Pollon tabled the following document:

AGC 030/24 Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Written submission dated May 15, 2002.

- 5. At 10:07 a.m., the Committee recessed until 10:18 a.m.
- 6. Mr. Neal Hardy, representing the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities addressed the Committee and with Mssrs. Robert (Bob) Schultz, and Don Taylor responded to questions.
- 7. Mr. Joe Saxinger addressed the Committee and responded to questions.
- 8. It was moved by Mr. Bjornerud:

That this Committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, the motion was agreed to.

9. At 11:17 a.m., the Committee adjourned until 10:30 a.m. on Thursday, May 16, 2002.

Viktor Kaczkowski Committee Clerk Ron Harper, MLA Committee Chair