

FOURTH SESSION — TWENTY-NINTH LEGISLATURE

of the

Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

No. 25

Thursday, December 7, 2023

10:00 a.m.

PRAYERS

SPEAKER TABLES REPORTS

The Speaker laid before the Assembly the following:

Saskatchewan Legislative Library: 2022–23 annual report

(Sessional paper no. 114)

PRESENTING PETITIONS

Petitions of citizens of the province of Saskatchewan were presented and laid upon the Table by the following members: Teed, Ross (Prince Albert Northcote), Young (Regina University), Clarke, Sarauer, and Ritchie.

READING AND RECEIVING PETITIONS

According to order and pursuant to rule 16(7), petitions from residents of the province of Saskatchewan, requesting the following action, were read and received:

To design a home supports program for older adults in Saskatchewan.

(Sessional paper no. 113)

To call upon the Government of Canada to immediately remove the federal carbon tax from all home heating costs across Canada.

(Addendum to sessional paper no. 27)

REPORT OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON PRIVILEGES

Ms. Sarauer, Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Privileges, presented the first report of the said committee.

(Sessional paper no. 115)

Moved by Ms. Sarauer:

That the first report of the Standing Committee on Privileges be now concurred in.

A debate arising, the Speaker requested Ms. Conway to withdraw unparliamentary language. Ms. Conway refused to withdraw the words after the Speaker asked her to do so repeatedly.

Whereupon, Ms. Conway was named by the Speaker as follows:

Ms. Conway, in accordance with rule 57(2), I name you for disregarding the authority of the Chair.

Ms. Conway then withdrew from the Chamber.

The debate continuing, and the question being put, it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS	36
LLAS	20

Morgan	McMorris	Hindley	Reiter	Harpauer
Duncan	Merriman	Tell	Wyant	Makowsky
Marit	Skoropad	Kaeding	Cockrill	Ross (Regina Rochdale)
Eyre	Harrison (Meadow Lake)	Carr	Hargrave	McLeod (Moose Jaw North)
Buckingham	Ross (Prince Albert Northcote)	Dennis	Lambert	Ottenbreit
Francis	Young (Lloydminster)	Steele	Nerlien	McLeod (Lumsden-Morse)
Friesen	Grewal	Keisig	Lemaigre	Jenson

Harrison (Cannington)

Nays — 10

Beck Nippi-Albright Wotherspoon Love Teed

Young (Regina Burki Clarke Sarauer Ritchie

University)

On motion of the Hon. Ms. Carr:

Ordered, That this Assembly do now adjourn.

Pursuant to rule 3(1), the Assembly adjourned at 12:10 p.m. until Monday, March 4, 2024 at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Randy Weekes Speaker