STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Tuesday, April 29, 2025

MINUTE NO. 5 4:01 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Blaine McLeod in the chair and members Hon. Jamie Martens, Betty Nippi-Albright, Megan Patterson, Jacqueline Roy, Nicole Sarauer,* and Sean Wilson.*

Substituting Members

Nicole Sarauer for Leroy Laliberte Sean Wilson for Racquel Hilbert

2. The committee considered Bill No. 3, *The Safer Communities and Neighbourhoods Amendment Act*, 2024.

The Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety Hon. Tim McLeod, Minister Denise Macza, Deputy Minister Corey Zaharuk, Assistant Deputy Minister Ministry of Justice and Attorney General Neil Karkut, Senior Crown Counsel

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 14, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by the Hon. Jamie Martens:

That the committee report Bill No. 3, *The Safer Communities and Neighbourhoods Amendment Act*, 2024 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. It was moved by Sean Wilson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

6. The committee adjourned at 4:38 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Anne Drake	Blaine McLeod
Committee Clerk	Chair