# STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Wednesday, April 9, 2025

#### MINUTE NO. 6

5:00 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Michael Weger in the chair and members Brent Blakley, April ChiefCalf, Brad Crassweller,\* Kim Gartner, Tajinder Grewal,\* Kevin Kasun,\* Barret Kropf, Matt Love,\* and Brittney Senger.\*

## **Substituting Members**

Brad Crassweller for Barret Kropf (6:36 p.m. – 8:36 p.m.) Tajinder Grewal for April ChiefCalf (5:00 p.m. – 7:03 p.m.) Kevin Kasun for Hon. Colleen Young Matt Love for Noor Burki Brittney Senger for Brent Blakley (7:33 p.m. – 8:36 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the 2025–26 estimates and 2024–25 supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Advanced Education.

The Minister of Advanced Education and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff, Minister

Louise Michaud, Deputy Minister

Lindell Veitch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate and Student Services

Mark Wyatt, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategy and Sector Relations

Jon Altwasser, Executive Director, Corporate Finance

Anna Ditablan, Executive Director, International Education and Jurisdictional Initiatives

Mike Pestill, Executive Director, Sector Management and Relations

Duane Rieger, Executive Director, Business Systems and Information Management

Dana Schmalz, Executive Director, Strategic Capital Planning

Jill Tzupa, Executive Director, Strategy, Planning and Sector Engagement

Kirk Wosminity, Executive Director, Student and Support Services

Mary-Anne Neumann, Manager, Executive Operations

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the 2025–26 estimates and 2024–25 supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Advanced Education.
- 4. The committee recessed from 7:03 p.m. until 7:33 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the 2025–26 estimates and 2024–25 supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Education.

The Minister of Education and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

## Witnesses

Hon. Everett Hindley, Minister Clint Repski, Deputy Minister Sammi Haque, Assistant Deputy Minister Jason Pirlot, Assistant Deputy Minister Charlotte Schriml, Assistant Deputy Minister
Tim Caleval, Executive Director, Priority Action Team
Angela Chobanik, Executive Director, Education Funding
Kevin Gabel, Executive Director, Programs
Edith Nagy, Executive Director, Student Achievement and Supports
Sheldon Ramstead, Executive Director, Information Management and Support
Rhiannon Shaw, Executive Director, Corporate Services
Stephenie Leitao Csada, Director, Student Achievement and Supports
Paul Lewis, Director, Education Funding

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the 2025–26 estimates and 2024–25 supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Education.
- 7. It was moved by Kim Gartner:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 8:36 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Miranda Gudereit Michael Weger
Committee Clerk Chair