## STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 29, 2025

## MINUTE NO. 7 4:01 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: James Thorsteinson in the chair and members Tajinder Grewal, Hon. Terry Jenson, Darlene Rowden, Nathaniel Teed,\* Kevin Weedmark, and Trent Wotherspoon.\*

## **Substituting Members**

Nathaniel Teed for Kim Breckner Trent Wotherspoon for Sally Housser

2. The committee considered Bill No. 17, *The Saskatchewan Commercial Innovation Incentive (Patent Box) Amendment Act, 2025.* 

The Minister of Trade and Export Development and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Warren Kaeding, Minister Jodi Banks, Deputy Minister Tyler Lynch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development Kareen Holtby, Executive Director, Strategic Policy and Competitiveness Krystal Medwid, Executive Director, Corporate Services

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 13, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Kevin Weedmark:

That the committee report Bill No. 17, *The Saskatchewan Commercial Innovation Incentive (Patent Box) Amendment Act, 2025* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered Bill No. 20, *The Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) Investment Tax Credit Act*.

The Minister of Trade and Export Development and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

## Witnesses

Hon. Warren Kaeding, Minister Jodi Banks, Deputy Minister Tyler Lynch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development Kareen Holtby, Executive Director, Strategic Policy and Competitiveness Krystal Medwid, Executive Director, Corporate Services

6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 51, they were agreed to.

7. It was moved by Darlene Rowden:

That the committee report Bill No. 20, *The Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) Investment Tax Credit Act* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. It was moved by the Hon. Terry Jenson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. The committee adjourned at 4:52 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Jessica Start Committee Clerk James Thorsteinson Chair