STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Wednesday, April 2, 2025

MINUTE NO. 3

5:00 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: James Thorsteinson in the chair and members Carla Beck,* Brent Blakley,* Tajinder Grewal, Hon. Terry Jenson, Erika Ritchie,* Darlene Rowden, Jacqueline Roy,* Kevin Weedmark, Sean Wilson,* and Trent Wotherspoon.*

Substituting Members

Carla Beck for Sally Housser (8:34 p.m. – 10:35 p.m.) Brent Blakley for Kim Breckner (5:00 p.m. – 7:05 p.m.) Erika Ritchie for Sally Housser (5:00 p.m. – 7:58 p.m.) Jacqueline Roy for Kim Breckner (7:05 p.m. – 7:58 p.m.) Sean Wilson for Hon. Terry Jenson (6:45 p.m. – 10:35 p.m.) Trent Wotherspoon for Kim Breckner (8:34 p.m. – 10:35 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the 2025–26 estimates for the Water Security Agency.

The Minister Responsible for Water Security Agency and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Daryl Harrison, Minister

Shawn Jaques, President and Chief Executive Officer

David Cooper, Vice-President, Agriculture Services and Economic Development

John Fahlman, Vice-President, Infrastructure

Jordan Huber, Vice-President, Finance

Terri Kentel-Weinheimer, Vice-President, Corporate Services

Thon Phommavong, Vice-President, Science and Licensing

Leah Clark, Executive Director, Irrigation and Economic Development

Krystal Tendler, Executive Director, Agriculture Water Management

Ali'i Lafontaine, General Counsel

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the 2025–26 estimates for the Water Security Agency.
- 4. The committee recessed from 7:58 p.m. until 8:34 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the 2025–26 estimates and 2024–25 supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The Minister of Agriculture and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Agriculture

Hon. Daryl Harrison, Minister

Bill Greuel, Deputy Minister

Sharla Hordenchuk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fields Operations

Penny McCall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory and Innovation

Rob Pentland, Executive Director, Corporate Services Amanda Sich, Executive Director, Policy Kim McLean, Director, Farmland Security Board Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation Jeff Morrow, President and Chief Executive Officer Lorelei Hulston, Vice-President, Operations Waren Ames, Executive Director, AgriStability Christine Virostek, Executive Director, Accounting

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the 2025–26 estimates and 2024–25 supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Agriculture.
- 7. The committee adjourned at 10:35 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Anne Drake

Committee Clerk

James Thorsteinson
Chair