# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Monday, March 31, 2025

### MINUTE NO. 2

## 5:00 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: James Thorsteinson in the chair and members Noor Burki,\* Jared Clarke,\* Tajinder Grewal, Sally Housser, Hon. Terry Jenson, Darlene Rowden, and Kevin Weedmark.

## **Substituting Members**

Noor Burki for Tajinder Grewal (5:00 p.m. – 5:59 p.m.)

Jared Clarke for Kim Breckner

2. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1), the following estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 were committed to the Standing Committee on the Economy on March 27, 2025 and March 19, 2025 respectively:

#### 2025–26 Estimates

Vote 1	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways
Vote 89	Immigration and Career Training
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council
Vote 90	Trade and Export Development
Vote 87	Water Security Agency

## 2024–25 Supplementary Estimates No. 2

Vote 1	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Vote 16	Highways
Vote 89	Immigration and Career Training
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council

3. The following documents were tabled:

Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel: 2024 regulations filed

(ECO 2-30)

Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel: 2024 bylaws filed

(ECO 3-30)

4. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The Minister of Environment and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

W	itn	ess	es
W	ıtn	ess	es

Hon. Travis Keisig, Minister

Kevin France, Deputy Minister

Rebecca Gibbons, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Policy

Wes Kotyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection

Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management

Aaron Wirth, Executive Director, Climate Resilience

Nick Gan, Director, Budget and Reporting

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 6. The committee recessed from 7:00 p.m. until 7:30 p.m.
- 7. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.

The Minister of Energy and Resources and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Hon. Colleen Young, Minister

Blair Wagar, Deputy Minister

Scott Giroux, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Corporate Services

Cory Hughes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Development

Debby Westerman, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Regulation

Kim Olyowski, Executive Director, Revenue and Financial Services

Eric Warren, Executive Director, Energy Policy

Scott Weaver, Executive Director, Regulatory Affairs and Analytics

- 8. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.
- 9. It was moved by Darlene Rowden:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. The committee adjourned at 9:33 p.m. until Wednesday, April 2, 2025 at 5:00 p.m.

Miranda Gudereit	James Thorsteinson	
Committee Clerk	Chair	