

#### FIRST SESSION — THIRTIETH LEGISLATURE

of the

### Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

No. 12

Thursday, March 20, 2025

10:00 a.m.

**PRAYERS** 

#### PRESENTING PETITIONS

Petitions of citizens of the province of Saskatchewan were presented and laid upon the Table by the following members: Blaine McLeod, Noor Burki, Hugh Gordon, and Tajinder Grewal.

#### READING AND RECEIVING PETITIONS

According to order and pursuant to rule 16(7), petitions from residents of the province of Saskatchewan, requesting the following action, were read and received:

To pass legislation to improve conditions for Saskatchewan workers.

(Sessional paper no. 88)

To immediately address the short-staffing crisis in health care.

(Addendum to sessional paper no. 24)

To meaningfully address the affordability crisis in Saskatchewan.

(Addendum to sessional paper no. 25)

To immediately implement a comprehensive affordable housing strategy aimed at helping individuals and families in securing stable and affordable housing.

(Addendum to sessional paper no. 37)

# MOTION TO CONFIRM CANADA WILL NEVER BE THE 51ST STATE AND AFFIRM SUPPORT FOR SASKATCHEWAN'S TARIFFS RESPONSE PLAN

Leave of the Assembly having been granted, pursuant to rule 61, it was moved by Carla Beck:

That the Assembly condemns the Trump administration for proposing the annexation of Canada as the 51st state and imposing tariffs on Canadian goods; and,

That, in the opinion of the Assembly, the Government of Canada should neither impose export taxes on nor limit exports of natural resources produced in Saskatchewan.

A debate arising, it was moved by the Hon. Scott Moe:

That all the words after "That the Assembly", be replaced with:

confirms Canada will never be the 51st state and further that the Assembly supports the Government of Saskatchewan's tariffs response plan as follows:

That the Government of Saskatchewan:

- 1. Is aligned with all other provinces in the need to take counteraction against unjustified tariffs, including stopping the purchase of US alcohol and reviewing all government procurement to prioritize Canadian suppliers, with the goal of reducing or eliminating US procurement;
- 2. Supports efforts to increase procurement from Saskatchewan-based employers, like the recent announcement by Saskatchewan Crowns to increase procurement of steel from Evraz in Regina;
- 3. Supports the federal government in the use of targeted counter tariffs;
- 4. Does not support the use of export tariffs;
- 5. Will continue to work alongside all other premiers, federal ministers and Canadian business leaders to engage with the US government at all levels to emphasize the harm tariffs will cause to US businesses, workers and consumers;
- 6. Continues to support expanding vital infrastructure projects including ports, pipelines and rail, including their construction and seamless operations, and will work to provide swift approval of any projects that pass through Saskatchewan;
- Continues to reduce Saskatchewan's reliance on exports to the United States by increasing Saskatchewan exports to other countries through international trade missions and trade offices; and

8. Supports the complete removal of the federal carbon tax on everything for everyone, including removal of the federal industrial carbon tax that negatively impacts Saskatchewan businesses and jobs and drives up the cost of Canadian-made products.

The debate continuing on the motion and the amendment and the question being put on the amendment, it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

VEAS	31

Scott Moe	Daryl Harrison	David Marit	Jeremy Cockrill	Everett Hindley
Jeremy Harrison	Terry Jenson	Colleen Young	Ken Cheveldayoff	Travis Keisig
James Thorsteinson	Jamie Martens	Racquel Hilbert	Doug Steele	Eric Schmalz
Alana Ross	Tim McLeod	Lori Carr	Sean Wilson	Kevin Weedmark
Chris Beaudry	Blaine McLeod	Brad Crassweller	Barret Kropf	Michael Weger
Megan Patterson	Terri Bromm	Darlene Rowden	David Chan	Kim Gartner
Kevin Kasun				
Nays — 25				
Carla Beck	Noor Burki	Betty Nippi-	Vicki Mowat	Trent Wotherspoon
Matt Love	Nathaniel Teed	Albright Aleana Young	Leroy Laliberte	Jordan McPhail
Kim Breckner	Nicole Sarauer	Meara Conway	Brent Blakley	Tajinder Grewal
April ChiefCalf	Keith Jorgenson	Bhajan Brar	Hugh Gordon	Darcy Warrington
Joan Pratchler	Sally Housser	Brittney Senger	Jacqueline Roy	Don McBean

The question being put on the motion as amended, it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS	56	)

Scott Moe	Daryl Harrison	David Marit	Jeremy Cockrill	Everett Hindley
Jeremy Harrison	Terry Jenson	Colleen Young	Ken Cheveldayoff	Travis Keisig
James Thorsteinson	Jamie Martens	Racquel Hilbert	Doug Steele	Eric Schmalz
Alana Ross	Tim McLeod	Lori Carr	Sean Wilson	Kevin Weedmark
Chris Beaudry	Blaine McLeod	Brad Crassweller	Barret Kropf	Michael Weger
Megan Patterson	Terri Bromm	Darlene Rowden	David Chan	Kim Gartner

Carla Beck	Noor Burki	Betty Nippi- Albright	Vicki Mowat
Matt Love	Nathaniel Teed	Aleana Young	Leroy Laliberte
Kim Breckner	Nicole Sarauer	Meara Conway	Brent Blakley
April ChiefCalf	Keith Jorgenson	Bhajan Brar	Hugh Gordon
oan Pratchler	Sally Housser	Brittney Senger	Jacqueline Roy
1	Iatt Love im Breckner pril ChiefCalf	Iatt Love Nathaniel Teed im Breckner Nicole Sarauer pril ChiefCalf Keith Jorgenson	Albright Aleana Young  im Breckner Nicole Sarauer Meara Conway  pril ChiefCalf Keith Jorgenson Bhajan Brar

Don McBean

NAYS — NIL

#### RESUMPTION OF BUDGET DEBATE

The Assembly resumed the adjourned debate on the proposed motion of the Hon. Jim Reiter, seconded by Brad Crassweller:

That the Assembly approves in general the budgetary policy of the government.

The debate continuing, it was moved by Trent Wotherspoon, seconded by Aleana Young:

That all the words after "Assembly" be omitted and the following be inserted:

does not approve the budgetary policy of the government because it proposes cuts to health care and education while failing to respond to the threat and impact of tariffs, including those imposed by Donald Trump; and further,

That the Assembly has lost confidence in the government.

The debate continuing on the motion and the amendment, pursuant to rule 6(7), the Speaker interrupted proceedings and adjourned the Assembly.

The Assembly adjourned at 1:00 p.m. until Monday at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Todd Goudy Speaker

## NOTICE OF MOTIONS FOR FIRST READING OF BILLS

On Tuesday:

Hon. Jim Reiter to move first reading of Bill No. 16 — The Provincial Sales Tax Amendment Act, 2025