STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Wednesday December 2, 2020

MINUTE NO. 1

11:29 a.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Mark Docherty in the chair and members Ken Cheveldayoff,* Terry Dennis,* Betty Nippi-Albright, and Colleen Young.*

Substituting Members

Terry Dennis for Gary Grewal Mark Docherty for Lisa Lambert Colleen Young for Tim McLeod

2. The Committee Clerk presided over the election of a Chair. Mr. Docherty was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ms. Young:

That Mark Docherty be elected to preside as Chair of the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair proceeded to the election of a Deputy Chair. The Chair informed the committee that Ms. Nippi-Albright was the only opposition member on the committee and, pursuant to rule 123(2), was the only member eligible to preside as Deputy Chair. It was moved by Mr. Cheveldayoff:

That Betty Nippi-Albright be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. It was moved by Mr. Dennis:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of the Chair and Deputy Chair; and further.

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of all members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on Intergovernmental Affairs and Justice be permitted on the steering committee.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The following document was tabled:

Ministry of Government Relations: Responses to questions raised at the June 22, 2020 meeting, dated June 26, 2020

(IAJ 1-29)

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk	Mark Docherty Chair
7. The committee adjourned at 11:35 a.m. to the	call of the Chair.
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
That this committee do now adjourn.	
6. It was moved by Ms. Young:	