STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, March 2, 2020

MINUTE NO. 42

7:01 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

- 1. **Present**: Greg Lawrence in the chair and members Buckley Belanger, Dan D'Autremont, Ken Francis, Delbert Kirsch, Laura Ross, and Nicole Sarauer.
- 2. The committee considered Bill No. 174, *The Enforcement of Maintenance Orders Amendment Act, 2019/Loi modificative de 2019 sur l'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires.*

The Minister of Justice and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Lionel McNabb, Executive Director, Family Justice Services and Director, Maintenance Enforcement Office

Maria Markatos, Senior Crown Counsel, Legislative Services

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 12, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Ms. Ross:

That the committee report Bill No. 174, *The Enforcement of Maintenance Orders Amendment Act*, 2019/Loi modificative de 2019 sur l'exécution des ordonnances alimentaires without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered Bill No. 176, *The Fiduciaries Access to Digital Information Act/Loi sur l'accès des fiduciaux à l'information numérique*.

The Minister of Justice and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services

Maria Markatos, Senior Crown Counsel, Legislative Services

- 6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 12, they were agreed to.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. D'Autremont:

That the committee report Bill No. 176, *The Fiduciaries Access to Digital Information Act/Loi sur l'accès des fiduciaux à l'information numérique* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 177, *The Miscellaneous Statutes (Electronic Register) Amendment Act*, 2019.

The Minister of Justice and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Darcy McGovern, Director, Legislative Services

Maria Markatos, Senior Crown Counsel, Legislative Services

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 44, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Francis:

That the committee report Bill No. 177, *The Miscellaneous Statutes (Electronic Register)* Amendment Act, 2019 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee considered Bill No. 175, *The Marriage Amendment Act, 2019/Loi modificative de 2019 sur le mariage*.

The Minister of Justice and the following official appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Don Morgan, Minister

Lionel McNabb, Executive Director, Family Justice Services and Director, Maintenance Enforcement Office

Maria Markatos, Senior Crown Counsel, Legislative Services

- 12. The questions being put on clauses 1 and 17, they were agreed to.
- 13. It was moved by Mr. Kirsch:

That the committee report Bill No. 175, *The Marriage Amendment Act, 2019/Loi modificative de 2019 sur le mariage* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. The committee considered Bill No. 188, The Public Guardian and Trustee Amendment Act, 2019.

The Minister of Justice and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u>
Ministry of Justice
Hon. Don Morgan, Minister
Maria Markatos, Senior Crown Counsel, Legislative Services
Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee
Rob Crook, Public Guardian and Trustee
Carolyn Decker, Deputy Public Guardian and Trustee

- 15. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 27, they were agreed to.
- 16. It was moved by Ms. Ross:

That the committee report Bill No. 188, *The Public Guardian and Trustee Amendment Act*, 2019 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

17. It was moved by Ms. Ross:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

18. The committee adjourned at 8:20 p.m. until Tuesday, March 3, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu	Greg Lawrence
Committee Clerk	Chair