STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, April 29, 2019

MINUTE NO. 38 3:00 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Fred Bradshaw in the chair and members Lisa Lambert,* Hugh Nerlien, Eric Olauson, Laura Ross, Nicole Sarauer,* Corey Tochor, and Trent Wotherspoon.*

Substituting Members

Lisa Lambert for Ken Francis Nicole Sarauer for Buckley Belanger (3:00 p.m. – 4:36 p.m.) Trent Wotherspoon for Buckley Belanger (4:41 p.m. – 5:20 p.m.)

Other Members

Buckley Belanger

2. The committee considered Bill No. 149, The Police (Regional Policing) Amendment Act, 2018.

The Minister of Corrections and Policing and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections and Policing Hon. Christine Tell, Minister Dale Larsen, Acting Deputy Minister Ministry of Justice and Attorney General Neil Karkut, Senior Crown Counsel

- 3. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 14, they were agreed to.
- 4. It was moved by Mr. Nerlien:

That the committee report Bill No. 149, *The Police (Regional Policing) Amendment Act*, 2018 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The committee considered Bill No. 150, The Seizure of Criminal Property Amendment Act, 2018.

The Minister of Corrections and Policing and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections and Policing

Hon. Christine Tell, Minister

Dale Larsen, Acting Deputy Minister

Tammy Pryznyk, Crown Counsel, Policing and Community Safety Services

Ministry of Justice and Attorney General

Neil Karkut, Senior Crown Counsel

- 6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 18, they were agreed to.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Olauson:

That the committee report Bill No. 150, *The Seizure of Criminal Property Amendment Act, 2018* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee considered Bill No. 158, The Youth Justice Administration Act, 2018.

The Minister of Corrections and Policing and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Corrections and Policing

Hon. Christine Tell, Minister

Gord Lupanko, Director, Youth Custody Services

Bonny Gerger, Manager, Legislation, Policy and Planning Services

Ministry of Justice and Attorney General

Maria Markatos, Senior Crown Counsel

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1-1 to 3-11, they were agreed to.
- 10. During consideration of clause 3-12, it was moved by Mr. Olauson:

Amend Clause 3-12 of the printed Bill in the portion of subsection (3) preceding clause (a) by striking out "of the" and substituting "detained in the".

The question being put on the amendment, it was agreed to.

The question being put on clause 3-12 as amended, it was agreed to.

- 11. The questions being put on clauses 3-13 to 4-6, they were agreed to.
- 12. During consideration of clause 4-7, it was moved by Mr. Olauson:

Amend Clause 4-7 of the printed Bill in subsection (3) by striking out "conduct a search of the young person and".

The question being put on the amendment, it was agreed to.

The question being put on clause 4-7 as amended, it was agreed to.

13. The questions being put on clauses 4-8 to 15-9, they were agreed to.

14. It was moved by Mr. Tochor:

That the committee report Bill No. 158, The Youth Justice Administration Act, 2018 with amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 15. The committee recessed from 4:36 p.m. until 4:41 p.m.
- 16. The committee considered Bill No. 169, The Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency Act.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Government Relations

Hon. Warren Kaeding, Minister

Greg Miller, Deputy Minister

Duane McKay, Assistant Deputy Minister and Commissioner, Emergency Management and Fire Safety

Elissa Aitken, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services

Ryan Cossitt, Executive Director, Strategic Policy and Corporate Management

Jeff Markewich, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Jay Teneycke, Executive Director, Communications

Jason Rumancik, Senior Policy Analyst, Policy and Program Services

Ministry of Environment

Veronica Gelowitz, Assistant Deputy Minister

- 17. The questions being put on clauses 1-1 to 9-1, they were agreed to.
- 18. It was moved by Ms. Lambert:

That the committee report Bill No. 169, *The Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency Act* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

19. It was moved by Mr. Nerlien:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

20. The committee adjourned at 5:20 p.m. until Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 7:00 p.m.

Stacey Ursulescu	Fred Bradshaw	
Committee Clerk	Chair	