# STANDING COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS AND JUSTICE Monday, April 15, 2019

#### MINUTE NO. 37

6:30 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Fred Bradshaw in the chair and members Ken Francis, Warren McCall,\* Hugh Nerlien, Eric Olauson, Laura Ross, Corey Tochor, and Trent Wotherspoon.\*

## **Substituting Members**

Warren McCall for Buckley Belanger (6:30 p.m. – 8:25 p.m.) Trent Wotherspoon for Buckley Belanger (8:32 p.m. – 10:43 p.m.)

#### **Other Members**

Doyle Vermette

2. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Government Relations.

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Warren Kaeding, Minister

Greg Miller, Deputy Minister

Laurier Donais, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Disaster Recovery

Giselle Marcotte, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs

Duane McKay, Assistant Deputy Minister, Public Safety and Fire Commissioner

Ralph Leibel, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Municipal Relations

Elissa Aitken, Executive Director, Policy and Program Services

John Billington, Executive Director, Municipal Infrastructure and Finance

Ryan Cossitt, Executive Director, Emergency Management and Fire Safety

Sheldon Green, Executive Director, Advisory Services and Municipal Relations

Brad Henry, Executive Director, Northern Municipal Services

Grant Hilsenteger, Executive Director, Provincial Disaster Assistance Program

Jeff Markewich, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Russell Mirasty, Executive Director, Indigenous and Northern Relations

Jay Teneycke, Executive Director, Communications

Karen Bolton, Director, Aboriginal Consultation

Scott Boyes, Director, Northern Engagement

Heather Evans, Director, Financial Planning

Alethea Foster, Director, First Nations and Métis Relations

Norm Magnin, Director, Property Assessment and Taxation

Jenna Schroeder, Director, Community Planning

Michelle Maurer, Acting Director, Land Claims

Kevin Kehler, Senior Research Analyst, Building Standards and Licensing

Iryna Soloduk, Executive Assistant

3. The committee observed a moment of silence in honour of Elder Noel Starblanket who passed away on Monday, April 15, 2019.

- 4. The committee recessed from 8:25 p.m. until 8:32 p.m.
- 5. The committee resumed consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Government Relations.
- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Government Relations.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Francis:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee adjourned at 10:43 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Stacey Ursulescu	Fred Bradshaw
Committee Clerk	Chair