STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Wednesday, December 2, 2020

MINUTE NO. 1

11:22 a.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Ken Cheveldayoff in the chair and members Meara Conway, Terry Dennis,* Mark Docherty,* and Colleen Young.*

Substituting Members

Terry Dennis for Muhammad Fiaz Mark Docherty for Hugh Nerlien Colleen Young for Alana Ross

2. The Committee Clerk presided over the election of a Chair. Mr. Cheveldayoff was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Ms. Young:

That Ken Cheveldayoff be elected to preside as Chair of the Standing Committee on Human Services.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair proceeded to the election of a Deputy Chair. The Chair informed the committee that Mr. Belanger was the only opposition member on the committee and, pursuant to rule 123(2), was the only member eligible to preside as Deputy Chair. It was moved by Mr. Dennis:

That Meara Conway be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Human Services.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. It was moved by Ms. Young:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of the Chair and Deputy Chair; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of all members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on Human Services be permitted on the steering committee.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. The following documents were tabled:

Ministry of Social Services: Responses to questions raised at the June 18, 2020 meeting (1)

(HUS 1-29)

Ministry of Social Services: Responses to questions raised at the June 18, 2020 meeting (2)

(HUS 2-29)

6.	It was moved by Mr. Dennis:
	That this committee do now adjourn.
	The question being put, it was agreed to.
7.	The committee adjourned at 11:26 a.m. to the call of the Chair.
Sta Co	keey Ursulescu Ken Cheveldayoff Chair