STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Monday, April 10, 2017

MINUTE NO. 23 6:59 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Dan D'Autremont in the chair (9:07 p.m. – 10:11 p.m.), Hugh Nerlien in the chair (6:59 p.m. – 9:07 p.m.) and members Carla Beck,* David Buckingham, Mark Docherty, Muhammad Fiaz, and Hon. Nadine Wilson.

Substituting Members

Carla Beck for Nicole Rancourt

Other Members

David Forbes

2. The Committee Clerk presided over the election of an Acting Chair. Mr. Nerlien was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Mr. Buckingham:

That Mr. Nerlien be elected to preside as Acting Chair of the Standing Committee on Human Services for the meeting of April 10, 2017.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1), the March supplementary estimates for the following ministries were committed to the committee on March 22, 2017:

Vote 37	Advanced Education
Vote 5	Education
Vote 32	Health

The estimates for the following ministries were committed to the committee on March 30, 2017:

Vote 37, 169	Advanced Education
Vote 5	Education
Vote 32	Health
Vote 20	Labour Relations and Workplace Safety
Vote 36	Social Services

4. The committee considered the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Education.

The Minister of Education and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Don Morgan, Minister Julie MacRae, Deputy Minister Rob Currie, Assistant Deputy Minister Donna Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister Clint Repski, Assistant Deputy Minister Tim Caleval, Executive Director, Priority Action Team Angela Chobanik, Executive Director, Education Funding Gerry Craswell, Executive Director, Information Management and Support Kevin Gabel, Executive Director, Programs Alison Hopkins, Provincial Librarian and Executive Director, Provincial Library and Literacy Office Sheldon Ramstead, Executive Director, Infrastructure Doug Volk, Executive Director, Teachers' Superannuation Commission Janet Mitchell, Acting Executive Director, Early Years Susan Nedelcov-Anderson, Acting Executive Director, Student Achievement and Supports Kathy Deck, Director, Corporate Services Kim Taylor, Director, Early Years

- 5. The committee recessed from 9:01 p.m. until 9:07 p.m.
- 6. The committee resumed consideration of the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Education.
- 8. It was moved by Hon. Ms. Wilson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. The committee adjourned at 10:11 p.m. until April 11, 2017 at 7:00 p.m.

Rob Park Committee Clerk Dan D'Autremont Chair