# STANDING COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES Wednesday, June 22, 2016

#### MINUTE NO. 8

# 3:11 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Greg Lawrence (3:11 p.m. – 5:03 p.m.), Nicole Rancourt (7:00 p.m. – 7:02 p.m.), and Roger Parent (7:02 p.m. – 10:45 p.m.) in the chair and members Tina Beaudry-Mellor, Danielle Chartier,\* Dan D'Autremont, Muhammad Fiaz, Joe Hargrave,\* Eric Olauson,\* Roger Parent, and Nicole Rancourt.

## **Substituting Members**

Danielle Chartier for Nicole Rancourt (3:11 p.m. – 5:03 p.m.) Joe Hargrave for Hon. Nadine Wilson Eric Olauson for Greg Lawrence (7:00 p.m. – 10:45 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Health.

The following Health ministers and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

#### Witnesses

Ministry of Health

Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister

Hon. Greg Ottenbreit, Minister Responsible for Rural and Remote Health

Max Hendricks, Deputy Minister

Kimberly Kratzig, Assistant Deputy Minister

Karen Lautsch, Assistant Deputy Minister

Tracey Smith, Assistant Deputy Minister

Mark Wyatt, Assistant Deputy Minister

Margaret Baker, Executive Director, Primary Health Services Branch

Tami Denomie, Executive Director, Strategic Priorities Branch

Deb Jordan, Executive Director, Acute and Emergency Services Branch

Donna Magnusson, Executive Director, Population Health Branch

Billie-Jo Morrissette, Executive Director, Financial Services Branch

Patrick O'Byrne, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Disease Control Laboratory

Pauline Rousseau, Executive Director, Strategy and Innovation Branch

Shaylene Salazar, Executive Director, Medical Services Branch

Kevin Wilson, Executive Director, Drug Plan and Extended Benefits Branch

Heather Murray, Director, Community Care Branch

Kathy Willerth, Director, Community Care Branch

Brad Williams, Director, Strategy and Innovation Branch

Denise Grad, Acting Executive Assistant to the Deputy Minister

eHealth Saskatchewan

Susan Antosh, Chief Executive Officer

3. The following document was tabled:

Ministry of Health: 2007-2014 Saskatchewan suicides by RHA and age group

(HUS 6-28)

4. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for Health.

- 5. The committee recessed from 5:03 p.m. until 7:00 p.m.
- 6. The Deputy Chair designated that Mr. Parent temporarily chair the committee for the remainder of the meeting.
- 7. The committee considered the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.

The Minister of Social Services and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Greg Miller, Deputy Minister

Don Allen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Housing Programs

Constance Hourie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Income Assistance and Corporate Planning

Tammy Kirkland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Child and Family Programs

Bob Wihlidal, Assistant Deputy Minister, Disability Programs

Elissa Aitken, Executive Director, Program and Service Design, Income Assistance and Corporate Planning

Natalie Huber, Executive Director, Service Delivery, Child and Family Programs

Bob Martinook, Executive Director, Community Living Service Delivery, Disability Programs Miriam Myers, Executive Director, Finance

William Wyers, Executive Director, I manee

8. The committee recessed from 8:59 until 9:13 p.m.

- 9. The committee resumed consideration of the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 10. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Social Services.
- 11. The committee adjourned at 10:45 p.m. until Thursday, June 23, 2016 at 1:30 p.m.

Rob Park	Roger Parent	
Committee Clerk	Acting Chair	