STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES Thursday, May 19, 2016

MINUTE NO. 1

1:13 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

- 1. **Present**: Mr. Speaker in the chair and members Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff, David Forbes, Warren McCall, Paul Merriman, Kevin Phillips, and Doyle Vermette.
- 2. The Speaker advised that pursuant to rule 139(1), the government caucus has designated Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff, Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Paul Merriman, and Kevin Phillips as members to the Standing Committee on House Services and the opposition caucus has designated David Forbes, Warren McCall, and Doyle Vermette as members to the Standing Committee on House Services.
- 3. The Speaker presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. The Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff nominated Mr. McCall for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by the Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff:

That Mr. Warren McCall be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on House Services.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. It was moved by Mr. Phillips:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of Mr. Speaker, Mr. McCall, and the Hon. Mr. Cheveldayoff; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of a majority of the members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on House Services be permitted on the steering committee.

- 5. The committee considered the composition of the standing committees.
- 6. It was moved by Mr. Merriman:

That the standing committees' member ratio shall be six government members and one opposition member except for the Standing Committee on Privileges which shall be five government members and one opposition member.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. It was moved by The Hon. Ken Cheveldayoff:

That notwithstanding rule 122 and 142(1), the composition of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts shall consist of eight members including two opposition members for the duration of the twenty-eighth legislature.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 8. The committee considered the memberships of the standing committees.
- 9. The following documents were tabled:

Government Caucus: Government caucus standing committee membership	(HOS 1/28)
Opposition Caucus: Opposition caucus standing committee membership	(HOS 2/28)

10. It was moved by Mr. Merriman:

That the lists of members to serve on standing committees as tabled by the government and opposition caucuses be adopted and reported to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee considered the allocation schedule. It was moved by Mr. Phillips:

That the allocation schedule be adopted as per rule 139(3) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. It was moved by Mr. Merriman:

That a subcommittee of the Standing Committee on House Services consisting of the Speaker, Mr. McCall, and the Hon. Mr. Cheveldayoff be appointed to study and make recommendations on revisions to the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 13. The committee recessed from 1:21 p.m. until 1:25 p.m.
- 14. The committee considered its first report. It was moved by the Hon. Mr. Cheveldayoff:

That the first report of the Standing Committee on House Services be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. It was moved by Mr. Merriman:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

16. The committee adjourned at 1:26 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Kathy Burianyk Committee Clerk Hon. Corey Tochor, Speaker Chair