STANDING COMMITTEE ON HOUSE SERVICES Tuesday, December 1, 2020

MINUTE NO. 1

11:17 a.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

- 1. **Present**: Mr. Speaker in the chair and members Carla Beck, Fred Bradshaw, Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Vicki Mowat, Greg Ottenbreit, Nicole Sarauer, and Doug Steele.
- 2. The Speaker advised that pursuant to rule 139(1), the government caucus has designated Fred Bradshaw, Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Greg Ottenbreit, and Doug Steele as members of the Standing Committee on House Services, and the opposition caucus has designated Carla Beck, Vicki Mowat, and Nicole Sarauer as members of the Standing Committee on House Services.
- 3. The Speaker presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Ms. Beck nominated Ms. Mowat for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Hon. Mr. Harrison:

That Vicki Mowat be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on House Services.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

4. The committee considered its first report. It was moved by Hon. Mr. Harrison:

That the first report of the Standing Committee on House Services be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

5. It was moved by Mr. Ottenbreit:

That a steering committee be appointed to establish an agenda and priority of business for subsequent meetings and that the membership be comprised of Mr. Speaker, Hon. Jeremy Harrison, and Ms. Vicki Mowat; and further,

That the steering committee shall meet from time to time as directed by the committee or at the call of the Chair, that the presence of a majority of the members of the steering committee is necessary to constitute a meeting, and that substitutions from the membership of the Standing Committee on House Services be permitted on the steering committee.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 6. The committee considered the composition of the standing committees.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:

That the standing committees' member ratio shall be six government members and one opposition member except for the Standing Committee on Privileges which shall be five government members and one opposition member.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 8. The committee considered the membership of standing committees.
- 9. The following documents were tabled:

Government Caucus: Government caucus standing committee membership	(HOS 1-29)
Opposition Caucus: Opposition caucus standing committee membership	(HOS 2-29)

10. It was moved by Hon. Mr. Harrison:

That the lists of members to serve on standing committees as tabled by the government and opposition caucuses be adopted and reported to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee considered the allocation schedule. It was moved by Mr. Ottenbreit:

That the allocation schedule be adopted as per rule 139(3) of the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:

That a subcommittee of the Standing Committee on House Services consisting of the Speaker, Hon. Jeremy Harrison and Ms. Vicki Mowat be appointed to study and make recommendations on revisions to the *Rules and Procedures of the Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan*.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee considered its second report. It was moved by Ms. Sarauer:

That the second report of the Standing Committee on House Services be adopted and presented to the Assembly.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. The committee adjourned at 11:27 a.m. to the call of the Chair.

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk Hon. Randy Weekes, Speaker Chair