STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Wednesday, June 17, 2020

MINUTE NO. 46 3:32 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Buckley Belanger, David Buckingham, Eric Olauson, Yens Pedersen, Doug Steele, and Randy Weekes.*

Substituting Members

Randy Weekes for Lyle Stewart

2. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1), the estimates and supplementary estimates for the following ministries and agencies were committed to the committee on June 15, 2020:

2020-2021 Estimates

Vote 01	Agriculture
Vote 23	Energy and Resources
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 16	Highways and Infrastructure
Vote 89	Immigration and Career Training
Vote 84	Innovation Saskatchewan
Vote 35	Saskatchewan Research Council
Vote 86, 197	SaskBuilds Corporation
Vote 90	Trade and Export Development
Vote 87	Water Security Agency

2019-2020 Supplementary Estimates

Vote 01	Agriculture
Vote 26	Environment
Vote 197	SaskBuilds Corporation

3. The following documents were tabled:

SaskBuilds: Responses to questions raised at the April 10, 2019 meeting

(ECO 23-28)

Ministry of Energy and Resources: Responses to questions raised at the April 15, 2019 meeting (ECO 24-28)

4. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.

The Minister of Energy and Resources and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Ministry of Energy and Resources Hon. Bronwyn Eyre, Minister Doug MacKnight, Acting Deputy Minister Cory Hughes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Development Blair Wagar, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Regulation Ministry of Immigration and Career Training Denise Haas, Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Energy and Resources.
- 6. The committee considered Bill No. 181, The Mineral Taxation (Modernization) Amendment Act, 2019.

The Minister of Energy and Resources and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Bronwyn Eyre, Minister Doug MacKnight, Acting Deputy Minister Cory Hughes, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Development Blair Wagar, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Regulation

- 7. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 16, they were agreed to.
- 8. It was moved by Mr. Steele:

That the committee report Bill No. 181, *The Mineral Taxation (Modernization) Amendment Act, 2019* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 9. The committee recessed from 4:35 p.m. until 6:01 p.m.
- 10. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

The Minister of Agriculture and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Agriculture Hon. David Marit, Minister Rick Burton, Deputy Minister Lee Auten, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs Paul Johnson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Penny McCall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory and Innovation Michele Arscott, Executive Director, Corporate Services Wally Hoehn, Executive Director, Lands Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation Shawn Jaques, President and Chief Executive Officer Jeff Morrow, Vice-President, Operations Brad Schultz, Vice-President, Finance Waren Ames, Executive Director, AgriStability

11. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Agriculture.

- 12. The committee recessed from 8:05 p.m. until 8:11 p.m.
- 13. The committee considered Bill No. 179, The Apiaries Amendment Act, 2019.

The Minister of Agriculture and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. David Marit, Minister Penny McCall, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory and Innovation Geoff Wilson, Provincial Specialist, Apiculture

- 14. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 9, they were agreed to.
- 15. It was moved by Mr. Weekes:

That the committee report Bill No. 179, The Apiaries Amendment Act, 2019 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

16. It was moved by Mr. Buckingham:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

17. The committee adjourned at 8:31 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Anne Drake Committee Clerk Colleen Young Chair