## STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, May 22, 2018

## MINUTE NO. 31 3:00 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Buckley Belanger,\* David Buckingham, Terry Dennis, Delbert Kirsch, Warren McCall,\* Warren Michelson, Vicki Mowat, and Doug Steele.

## **Substituting Members**

Buckley Belanger for Vicki Mowat (4:26 p.m. – 5:37 p.m.) Warren McCall for Vicki Mowat (3:00 p.m. – 3:48 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates for Saskatchewan Research Council.

The Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Research Council and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister Laurier Schramm, President and Chief Executive Officer Ryan Hill, Vice-President, Finance

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for Saskatchewan Research Council.
- 4. The committee recessed from 3:48 p.m. until 3:50 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered Bill No. 125, The Saskatchewan Value-added Agriculture Incentive Act.

The Minister of Trade and Export Development and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Jeremy Harrison, Minister Jodi Banks, Acting Deputy Minister Kirk Westgard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development Bram Lerat, Policy Analyst, Strategic Policy and Initiatives Eric Warren, Policy Analyst, Strategic Policy and Initiatives

- 6. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 25, they were agreed to.
- 7. It was moved by Mr. Buckingham:

That the committee report Bill No. 125, *The Saskatchewan Value-added Agriculture Incentive Act* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

8. The committee recessed from 4:22 p.m. until 4:26 p.m.

9. The committee considered Bill No. 126, *The Energy Export Act*.

The Minister of Energy and Resources and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Ministry of Energy and Resources Hon. Bronwyn Eyre, Minister Laurie Pushor, Deputy Minister Kathryn Pollack, Assistant Deputy Minister, Minerals, Lands and Resource Policy Cullen Stewart, Executive Director, Energy Policy Mike Balfour, Director, Energy Economics Ministry of Justice Leanne Lang, Senior Crown Counsel, Civil Law Theodore Litowski, Crown Counsel, Constitutional Law

- 10. The committee recessed from 5:16 p.m. until 5:36 p.m. as a result of a power outage in the Chamber.
- 11. It was moved by Mr. Buckingham:

The committee adjourn consideration of Bill No. 126, The Energy Export Act.

The question being put, it was agreed.

12. It was moved by Mr. Buckingham:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee adjourned at 5:37 p.m. until Wednesday, May 23, 2018 at 10:00 a.m.