## STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, May 15, 2018

## MINUTE NO. 29 6:31 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Terry Dennis, David Forbes,\* Delbert Kirsch, Warren Michelson, Laura Ross,\* Cathy Sproule,\* and Doug Steele.

## **Substituting Members**

David Forbes for Vicki Mowat (7:38 p.m. – 10:35 p.m.) Laura Ross for David Buckingham Cathy Sproule for Vicki Mowat (6:31 p.m. – 7:33 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates for the Water Security Agency.

The Minister Responsible for the Water Security Agency and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister Susan Ross, President and Chief Executive Officer Lionel Diederichs, Vice-President, Corporate Services John Fahlman, Vice-President, Technical Services Sam Ferris, Vice-President, Regulatory Doug Johnson, Executive Director, Special Projects Clinton Molde, Executive Director, Integrated Water Services Thon Phommavong, Executive Director, Environmental and Municipal Management Service Jeff Hovdebo, Director, Water Licensing and Aquatic Habitat Protection Marjorie Simington, General Counsel, Legal Services, Lands and Aboriginal Affairs

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Water Security Agency.
- 4. The following document was tabled:

Cathy Sproule: Photos of land with illegal drainage

(ECO 14-28)

- 5. The committee recessed from 7:33 p.m. until 7:38 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The Minister of Environment and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister Lin Gallagher, Deputy Minister David Brock, Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change and Adaptation Division Wes Kotyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Division Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Division Veronica Gelowitz, Executive Director, Corporate Services Division; Sharla Hordenchuk, Executive Director, Climate Change Branch Ash Olesen, Executive Director, Environmental Protection Branch Richard Post, Executive Director, Compliance and Field Services Branch Steve Roberts, Executive Director, Wildfire Management Branch Cheryl Jansen, Director, Corporate Services Branch Brady Pollock, Director, Environmental Assessment and Stewardship Branch Stephanie Walton, Executive Assistant

- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 8. The committee recessed from 9:59 p.m. to 10:07 p.m.
- 9. The committee considered Bill No. 124, *The Environmental Management and Protection* (Environmental Handling Charges) Amendment Act, 2018.

The Minister of Environment and officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

## Witnesses

Hon. Dustin Duncan, Minister Lin Gallagher, Deputy Minister Wes Kotyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Division Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Division Veronica Gelowitz, Executive Director, Corporate Services Division Cheryl Jansen, Director, Corporate Services Branch Brady Pollock, Director, Environmental Assessment and Stewardship Branch

- 10. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.
- 11. It was moved by Mr. Dennis:

That the committee report Bill No. 124, *The Environmental Management and Protection* (Environmental Handling Charges) Amendment Act, 2018 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. The committee adjourned at 10:35 p.m. until Wednesday, May 16, 2018 at 3:00 p.m.

Colleen Young Chair