STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Monday, May 14, 2018

MINUTE NO. 28 3:16 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Buckley Belanger,* David Buckingham, Terry Dennis, Delbert Kirsch, Warren McCall,* Warren Michelson, and Doug Steele.

Substituting Members

Buckley Belanger for Vicki Mowat (6:30 p.m. – 8:34 p.m.) Warren McCall for Vicki Mowat (3:16 p.m. – 4:23 p.m.)

Other Members

Cathy Sproule

2. The committee considered the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.

The Minister Responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Innovation Saskatchewan Hon. Tina Beaudry-Mellor, Minister Wes Jickling, Chief Executive Officer Kari Harvey, Chief Operating Officer Ministry of Immigration and Career Training Neal Cooke, Director, Financial Compliance

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for Innovation Saskatchewan.
- 4. The committee considered Bill No. 129, The Saskatchewan Technology Start-up Incentive Act.

The Minister Responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Innovation Saskatchewan Hon. Tina Beaudry-Mellor, Minister Wes Jickling, Chief Executive Officer Kari Harvey, Chief Operating Officer Andy Melnyk, Director, Innovation Policy Ministry of Immigration and Career Training Neal Cooke, Director, Financial Compliance

5. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 49, they were agreed to.

6. It was moved by Mr. Steele:

That the committee report Bill No. 129, *The Saskatchewan Technology Start-up Incentive Act* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 7. The committee recessed from 4:23 p.m. until 6:30 p.m.
- 8. The committee considered Bill No. 85, The Reclaimed Industrial Sites Amendment Act, 2017.

The Minister of Energy and Resources and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Bronwyn Eyre, Minister Laurie Pushor, Deputy Minister Kathryn Pollack, Assistant Deputy Minister, Mineral Lands and Tenure Policy Keith Cunningham, Senior Analyst, Energy and Resources

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 8, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Michelson:

That the committee report Bill No. 85, *The Reclaimed Industrial Sites Amendment Act*, 2017 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

- 11. The committee recessed from 7:00 p.m. until 7:04 p.m.
- 12. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.

The Minister of Highways and Infrastructure and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. David Marit, Minister Fred Antunes, Deputy Minister Tom Lees, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations and Maintenance Division Penny Popp, Assistant Deputy Minister, Design and Construction Division Blair Wagar, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy, Planning and Regulation Division Wayne Gienow, Executive Director, Network Planning and Investment Kelly Moskowy, Executive Director, Corporate Services Dave Stearns, Executive Director, Construction Branch Doug Wakabayashi, Executive Director, Communications and Customer Services Branch

13. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimates no. 2 for the Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure.

14. It was moved by Mr. Buckingham:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. The committee adjourned at 8:34 p.m. until Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.

Rob Park Committee Clerk Colleen Young Chair