STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Tuesday, April 11, 2017

MINUTE NO. 11 7:00 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Gene Makowsky in the chair and members Steven Bonk, Bill Boyd, Lori Carr, Laura Ross, and Cathy Sproule.*

Substituting Members

Cathy Sproule for Buckley Belanger

Other Members

Nicole Rancourt

2. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The Minister of Environment and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Scott Moe, Minister
Lin Gallagher, Deputy Minster
Wes Kotyk, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Division
Kevin Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Management and Compliance Division
Bob Wynes, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Climate Change and Adaptation Division
Brent Kirychuk, Executive Director; Fish, Wildlife and Lands Branch
Aaron Kuchirka, Executive Director, Forest Service Branch
Ash Olesen, Executive Director, Environmental Protection Branch
Scott Pittendrigh, Executive Director, Climate Change Branch
Zach Solomon, Acting Executive Director, Corporate Services Division
Kristen Fry, Director, Budget and Fiscal Planning, Corporate Services
Sharla Hordenchuck, Director, Wildfire Management Branch

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Environment.
- 4. The committee recessed from 9:04 p.m. until 9:11 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the estimates for the Water Security Agency.

The Minister Responsible for the Water Security Agency and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Scott Moe, Minister Susan Ross, President John Fahlman, Vice-President, Technical Services Sam Ferris, Executive Director, Environmental and Municipal Management Services Irene Hrynkiw, Executive Director, Corporate Services Doug Johnson, Executive Director, Special Projects Clinton Molde, Executive Director, Integrated Water Services

- 6. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Water Security Agency.
- 7. The committee adjourned at 10:32 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk Gene Makowsky Chair