# STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ECONOMY Thursday, June 16, 2016

#### MINUTE NO. 3

### 1:29 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Gene Makowsky in the chair and members Larry Doke, Bronwyn Eyre, Warren Kaeding,\* Delbert Kirsch, Cathy Sproule,\* Doug Steele, and Warren Steinley.\*

## **Substituting Members**

Warren Kaeding for David Buckingham Cathy Sproule for Buckley Belanger

Warren Steinley for Bronwyn Eyre (4:38 p.m. – 6:10 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Environment.

The Minister of Environment and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Herb Cox, Minister

Kevin Murphy, Acting Deputy Minister

Erika Ritchie, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Protection Division

Lori Uhersky, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Support Division

Kevin Callele, Executive Director, Compliance Field Services Branch

Steve Roberts, Executive Director, Wildfire Management Branch

Kristen Fry, Director, Budget and Fiscal Planning, Corporate Services

Sharla Hordenchuck, Director, Environmental Assessment and Stewardship Branch

Scott Pittendrigh, Director, Climate Change Branch

- 3. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of the Environment.
- 4. The committee recessed from 4:29 p.m. until 4:38 p.m.
- 5. The committee considered the estimates for the Water Security Agency.

The Minister Responsible for the Water Security Agency and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

### Witnesses

Hon. Herb Cox, Minister

Wayne Dybvig, President

John Fahlman, Vice-President, Technical Services

Susan Ross, Vice-President and General Counsel

Sam Ferris, Executive Director, Environmental and Municipal Management Services

Dale Hjertaas, Executive Director, Policy

Irene Hrynkiw, Executive Director, Corporate Services

Doug Johnson, Executive Director, Special Projects

Clinton Molde, Executive Director, Integrated Water Services

<ul> <li>7. It was moved by Mr. Doke: That this committee do now adjourn. The question being put, it was agreed to.</li> <li>8. The committee adjourned at 6:10 p.m. until Monday, June 20, 2016 at 3:00 p.m.</li> </ul>	
The question being put, it was agreed to.	
8. The committee adjourned at 6:10 p.m. until Monday, June 20, 2016 at 3:00 p.m.	
Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk Gene Makowsky Chair	