STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN AND CENTRAL AGENCIES Tuesday, June 16, 2020

MINUTE NO. 48

2:59 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Fred Bradshaw in the chair and members Nancy Heppner, Hugh Nerlien, and Trent Wotherspoon.*

Substituting Members

Trent Wotherspoon for Warren McCall

2. The following documents were tabled:

Crown Investments Corporation of Saskatchewan: Report of public losses, January 1, 2020 to March 31, 2020

(CCA 86-28)

Ministry of Central Services: Responses to questions raised at the April 2, 2019 meeting

(CCA 87-28)

3. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1), the estimates and supplementary estimate for the following ministries and agencies were committed to the committee on June 15, 2020:

2020-2021 Estimates

| Vote 195 | Advances to Revolving Funds |
|----------|---|
| Vote 13 | Central Services |
| Vote 175 | Debt Redemption |
| Vote 18 | Finance |
| Vote 12 | Finance — Debt Servicing |
| Vote 177 | Interest on Gross Debt — Crown Enterprise Share |
| Vote 151 | Municipal Financing Corporation of Saskatchewan |
| Vote 33 | Public Service Commission |
| Vote 139 | Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation |
| Vote 154 | Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation |
| Vote 152 | Saskatchewan Power Corporation |
| Vote 153 | Saskatchewan Telecommunications Holding Corporation |
| Vote 140 | Saskatchewan Water Corporation |
| Vote 150 | SaskEnergy Incorporated |
| Vote 176 | Sinking Fund Payments — Government Share |
| | |

2019-2020 Supplementary Estimates

| Vote 13 | Central Services |
|----------|--|
| Vote 153 | Saskatchewan Telecommunications Holding Corporation\ |
| Vote 140 | Saskatchewan Water Corporation |
| Vote 175 | Debt Redemption |

4. The committee considered the estimates and supplementary estimate for the Ministry of Finance.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister

Rupen Pandya, Deputy Minister

Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue

Karen Lautsch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services

Arun Srinivas, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs

Raynelle Wilson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Treasury Board

Dave Wild, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Employees Benefits Agency

Terry Paton, Provincial Comptroller

Rod Balkwill, Executive Director, Treasury Management

Brian Miller, Executive Director, Personnel Policy Secretariat

Jeff Welke, Executive Director, Communications

Jeff Marshall, Director, Fiscal Policy

- 5. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and supplementary estimate for the Ministry of Finance.
- 6. The committee recessed from 5:33 p.m. until 6:29 p.m.
- 7. The committee considered Bill No. 180, *The Miscellaneous Statutes (Government Relations Transfer of Gas, Electrical and Plumbing Functions) Amendment Act, 2019.*

The Minister of Government Relations and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Ministry of Government Relations

Hon. Lori Carr, Minister

Laurier Donais, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Disaster Recovery

William Hawkins, Executive Director, Building Standards and Licensing

Len Marinos, Senior Legislative Analyst, Policy and Program Services

Saskatchewan Power Corporation

Rachelle Verret Morphy, Vice-President, Corporate and Regulatory Affairs

Syed Asif-Ali, Chief Gas Inspector

Mike Anderson, Chief Electrical Inspector

Technical Safety Authority of Saskatchewan

Bill Scott, Chief Executive Officer

Chris Selinger, Vice President, Operations and Chief Inspector

- 8. The questions being put on clauses 1-1 to 11-1, they were agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Mr. Nerlien:

That the committee report Bill No. 180, *The Miscellaneous Statutes (Government Relations – Transfer of Gas, Electrical and Plumbing Functions) Amendment Act, 2019* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

| Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk | Fred Bradshaw Chair | |
|--|------------------------|--|
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| | | |
| 11. The committee adjourned at 7:20 p.m. to the call | of the Chair. | |
| The question being put, it was agreed to. | | |
| That this committee do now adjourn. | | |
| 10. It was moved by Mr. Nerlien: | | |