STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN AND CENTRAL AGENCIES Wednesday, May 16, 2018

MINUTE NO. 29 3:00 p.m. — Legislative Chamber

1. **Present**: Herb Cox in the chair and members Steven Bonk, Glen Hart, Nancy Heppner, Everett Hindley, Eric Olauson,* and Cathy Sproule.

Substitutions

Eric Olauson for Lisa Lambert (5:59 p.m. – 6:43 p.m.)

2. The committee considered the estimates for the Ministry of Finance.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses

Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Rupen Pandya, Deputy Minister Denise Macza, Associate Deputy Minister, Treasury Board and Treasury Management Dave Wild, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Employees Benefits Agency Karen Allen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Deanna Bergbusch, Assistant Deputy Minister, Office of Planning, Performance and Improvement Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Arun Srinivas, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Terry Paton, Provincial Comptroller Joanne Brockman, Executive Director, Economic and Fiscal Policy Eric Johnson, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Jeff Welke, Executive Director, Communications

3. The following document was tabled:

Ministry of Finance: Responses to questions raised at the April 5, 2017 meeting

(CCA 51-28)

- 4. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates for the Ministry of Finance.
- 5. The committee recessed from 6:00 p.m. until 6:12 p.m.
- 6. The committee considered Bill No. 127, The Income Tax Amendment Act, 2018.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Rupen Pandya, Deputy Minister Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Division Arun Srinivas, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Eric Johnson, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs

- 7. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 26, they were agreed to.
- 8. It was moved by Mr. Bonk:

That the committee report Bill No. 127, The Income Tax Amendment Act, 2018 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

9. The committee considered Bill No. 128, The Provincial Sales Tax Amendment Act, 2018.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Donna Harpauer, Minister Rupen Pandya, Deputy Minister Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Division Arun Srinivas, Assistant Deputy Minister, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Eric Johnson, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs

- 10. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 13, they were agreed to.
- 11. It was moved by Ms. Heppner:

That the committee report Bill No. 128, *The Provincial Sales Tax Amendment Act, 2018* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

12. It was moved by Mr. Olauson:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

13. The committee adjourned at 6:43 p.m. until Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.

Herb Cox Chair