STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN AND CENTRAL AGENCIES Thursday, May 11, 2017

MINUTE NO. 21 1:30 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Terry Dennis, Muhammad Fiaz,* Glen Hart, Warren Kaeding, Kevin Phillips, and Cathy Sproule.*

Substitutions

Muhammad Fiaz for Fred Bradshaw Cathy Sproule for Ryan Meili

2. The following document was tabled:

Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation: Responses to questions raised at the May 2, 2017 meeting (CCA 41-28)

3. The committee considered Bill No. 70, The Provincial Sales Tax Amendment Act, 2017.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Kevin Doherty, Minister Clare Isman, Deputy Minister Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Division Joanne Brockman, Executive Director, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch Arun Srinivas, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch Larry Jacobson, Director, Tax Information and Compliance Branch Bob McInnes, Analyst, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch

4. The following document was tabled:

Saskatchewan Construction Association: April labour market report and news release, dated May 4, 2017

(CCA 42-28)

- 5. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 14, they were agreed to.
- 6. It was moved by Mr. Dennis:

That the committee report Bill No. 70, *The Provincial Sales Tax Amendment Act, 2017* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

7. The committee considered Bill No. 68, The Fuel Tax Amendment Act, 2017.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

Witnesses Hon. Kevin Doherty, Minister Clare Isman, Deputy Minister Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Division Joanne Brockman, Executive Director, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch Arun Srinivas, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch Larry Jacobson, Director, Tax Information and Compliance Branch Bob McInnes, Analyst, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch

- 8. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 8, they were agreed to.
- 9. It was moved by Mr. Fiaz:

That the committee report Bill No. 68, The Fuel Tax Amendment Act, 2017 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

10. The committee considered Bill No. 69, The Income Tax Amendment Act, 2017.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Kevin Doherty, Minister Clare Isman, Deputy Minister Joanne Brockman, Executive Director, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch Arun Srinivas, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch Bob McInnes, Analyst, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs Branch

- 11. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 19, they were agreed to.
- 12. During consideration of clause 20, it was moved by Mr. Phillips:

Amend section 63.4 of *The Income Tax Act, 2000*, as being enacted by Clause 20 of the printed Bill:

(a) in subclause (1)(b)(i) by striking out "April 1, 2017" and substituting "March 31, 2017";

(b) in clause (11)(a) by striking out "April 1, 2017" and substituting "March 31, 2017"; and

(c) in clause (12)(a) by striking out "April 1, 2012" and substituting "March 31, 2017".

The question being put on the amendment, it was agreed to.

The question being put on clause 20 as amended, it was agreed to.

13. The questions being put on clauses 21 to 26, they were agreed to.

14. It was moved by Mr. Kaeding:

That the committee report Bill No. 69, The Income Tax Amendment Act, 2017 with amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. It was moved by Mr. Hart:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

16. The committee adjourned at 3:34 p.m. to the call of the Chair.

Stacey Ursulescu Committee Clerk Colleen Young Chair