STANDING COMMITTEE ON CROWN AND CENTRAL AGENCIES Wednesday, April 5, 2017

MINUTE NO. 15 7:00 p.m. — māmawapiwin náyati room (Room 8)

1. **Present**: Colleen Young in the chair and members Fred Bradshaw, Terry Dennis, Warren Kaeding, Kevin Phillips, Cathy Sproule, * and Doug Steele.*

Substitutions

Cathy Sproule for Ryan Meili Doug Steele for Glen Hart

2. The Chair presided over the election of a Deputy Chair. Mr. Meili was nominated for the position. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Mr. Phillips:

That Ryan Meili be elected to preside as Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Crown and Central Agencies.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

3. The Chair advised the committee that pursuant to rule 148(1), the March supplementary estimates for the following ministry were committed to the committee on March 22, 2017:

Vote 18 Finance

The estimates for the following ministries and agencies were committed to the committee on March 30, 2017:

Vote 195	Advances to Revolving Funds
Vote 13	Central Services
Vote 175	Debt Redemption
Vote 18	Finance
Vote 12	Finance — Debt Servicing
Vote 177	Interest on Gross Debt — Crown Enterprise Share
Vote 33	Public Service Commission
Vote 154	Saskatchewan Opportunities Corporation
Vote 152	Saskatchewan Power Corporation
Vote 153	Saskatchewan Telecommunications Holding Corporation
Vote 140	Saskatchewan Water Corporation
Vote 150	SaskEnergy Incorporated
Vote 176	Sinking Fund Payments — Government Share

4. The committee considered the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Finance.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Kevin Doherty, Minister Clare Isman, Deputy Minister Denise Macza, Associate Deputy Minister, Treasury Board and Treasury Management Dave Wild, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Employees Benefits Agency Karen Allen, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Terry Paton, Provincial Comptroller Joanne Brockman, Executive Director, Economic and Fiscal Policy Arun Srinivas, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs

- 5. The committee recessed from 9:03 p.m. to 9:08 p.m.
- 6. The committee resumed consideration of the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Finance.
- 7. The committee adjourned consideration of the estimates and March supplementary estimates for the Ministry of Finance.
- 8. The committee considered Bill No. 57, The Tobacco Tax Amendment Act, 2017.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Kevin Doherty, Minister Clare Isman, Deputy Minister Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Arun Srinivas, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs

- 9. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.
- 10. It was moved by Mr. Steele:

That the committee report Bill No. 57, The Tobacco Tax Amendment Act, 2017 without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

11. The committee considered Bill No. 58, The Corporation Capital Tax Amendment Act, 2017.

The Minister of Finance and the following officials appeared before the committee and answered questions:

<u>Witnesses</u> Hon. Kevin Doherty, Minister Clare Isman, Deputy Minister Brent Hebert, Assistant Deputy Minister, Revenue Arun Srinivas, Executive Director, Taxation and Intergovernmental Affairs

12. The questions being put on clauses 1 to 5, they were agreed to.

13. It was moved by Mr. Dennis:

That the committee report Bill No. 58, *The Corporation Capital Tax Amendment Act, 2017* without amendment.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

14. It was moved by Mr. Bradshaw:

That this committee do now adjourn.

The question being put, it was agreed to.

15. The committee adjourned at 10:21 p.m. until Monday, April 10, 2017 at 7:00 p.m.

Rob Park Committee Clerk Colleen Young Chair