

FIRST SESSION - TWENTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE

of the

Legislative Assembly of Saskatchewan

DEBATES and PROCEEDINGS

(HANSARD) Published under the authority of The Honourable P. Myron Kowalsky Speaker



NO. 36B TUESDAY, MAY 11, 2004, 7 p.m.

MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF SASKATCHEWAN

Speaker — Hon. P. Myron Kowalsky Premier — Hon. Lorne Calvert Leader of the Opposition — Brad Wall

Name of Member	Political Affiliation	Constituency
Addley, Graham	NDP	Saskatoon Sutherland
Allchurch, Denis	SP	Rosthern-Shellbrook
Atkinson, Hon. Pat	NDP	Saskatoon Nutana
Bakken, Brenda	SP	Weyburn-Big Muddy
Beatty, Hon. Joan	NDP	Cumberland
Belanger, Hon. Buckley	NDP	Athabasca
Bjornerud, Bob	SP	Melville-Saltcoats
Borgerson, Lon	NDP	Saskatchewan Rivers
Brkich, Greg	SP	Arm River-Watrous
Calvert, Hon. Lorne	NDP	Saskatoon Riversdale
Cheveldayoff, Ken	SP	Saskatoon Silver Springs
Chisholm, Michael	SP	Cut Knife-Turtleford
Cline, Hon. Eric	NDP	Saskatoon Massey Place
Crofford, Hon. Joanne	NDP	Regina Rosemont
D'Autremont, Dan	SP	Cannington
Dearborn, Jason	SP	Kindersley
Draude, June	SP	Kelvington-Wadena
Eagles, Doreen	SP	Estevan
Elhard, Wayne	SP	Cypress Hills
Forbes, Hon. David	NDP	Saskatoon Centre
Gantefoer, Rod	SP	Melfort
Hagel, Glenn	NDP	Moose Jaw North
Hamilton, Doreen	NDP	Regina Wascana Plains
Harpauer, Donna	SP	Humboldt
Harper, Ron	NDP	Regina Northeast
Hart, Glen	SP	Last Mountain-Touchwood
Heppner, Ben	SP	Martensville
Hermanson, Elwin	SP	Rosetown-Elrose
Higgins, Hon. Deb	NDP	Moose Jaw Wakamow
Huyghebaert, Yogi	SP	Wood River
Iwanchuk, Andy	NDP	Saskatoon Fairview
Junor, Judy	NDP	Saskatoon Eastview
Kerpan, Allan	SP	Carrot River Valley
Kirsch, Delbert	SP	Batoche
Kowalsky, Hon. P. Myron	NDP	Prince Albert Carlton
Krawetz, Ken	SP	Canora-Pelly
Lautermilch, Eldon	NDP	Prince Albert Northcote
McCall, Warren	NDP	Regina Elphinstone-Centre
McMorris, Don	SP	Indian Head-Milestone
Merriman, Ted	SP	Saskatoon Northwest
Morgan, Don	SP	Saskatoon Southeast
Morin, Sandra	NDP	Regina Walsh Acres
Nilson, Hon. John	NDP	Regina Lakeview
Prebble, Hon. Peter	NDP	Saskatoon Greystone
Quennell, Hon. Frank	NDP	Saskatoon Meewasin
Serby, Hon. Clay	NDP	Yorkton
Sonntag, Hon. Maynard	NDP	Meadow Lake
Stewart, Lyle	SP	Thunder Creek
Taylor, Hon. Len	NDP	The Battlefords
Thomson, Hon. Andrew	NDP	Regina South
Toth, Don	SP	Moosomin
Trew, Kim	NDP	Regina Coronation Park
Van Mulligen, Hon. Harry	NDP	Regina Douglas Park
Wakefield, Milton	SP	Lloydminster
Wall, Brad	SP	Swift Current
Wartman, Hon. Mark	NDP	Regina Qu'Appelle Valley
Weekes, Randy	SP	Biggar Basing Davidson
Yates, Kevin	NDP	Regina Dewdney

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF SASKATCHEWAN May 11, 2004

EVENING SITTING

ADJOURNED DEBATES

SECOND READINGS

Bill No. 1

The Assembly resumed the adjourned debate on the proposed motion by the Hon. Mr. Van Mulligen that **Bill No. 1** — **The Financial Administration Amendment Act, 2004** be now read a second time.

The Speaker: — I recognize the member for Thunder Creek.

Mr. Stewart: — Thank you, Mr. Speaker. This Act, Bill No. 1, An Act to amend the Financial Administration Act, 1993, and to make consequential amendments to other Acts — Mr. Speaker, I'm pleased to speak to this Bill.

This Bill allows for summary financial statements in the budgeting process, and by making reference only to up-to-date accounting practices and budgeting and accounting processes that can be changed in future without amending this legislation, which may be a concern when it comes to openness and accountability.

In this Bill, section 7 removes references to what must be included in the financial statements, and refers instead to and I quote:

"... accounting ... (practice) established by the board".

We assume this will mean summary financial statements, as is the case in other provinces, and which is recommended by our Provincial Auditor. But there is nothing in this Bill that states that.

In this Bill, Mr. Speaker, section 16 directs that the Provincial Comptroller prepare a summary financial statements in accordance with accounting policies of the Treasury Board. But the legislation, Mr. Speaker, doesn't say what the accounting policies of the Treasury Board are. It's not laid out anywhere in this legislation.

The Bill makes changes that takes away some of the ability of the legislature to provide oversight and question the government prior to passage of the budget.

In this Bill, Mr. Speaker, clause 5 allows for so-called net budgeting in some circumstances — revenues received that relate to the provision of goods or services to pay for the cost of those activities as cost may exceed revenues at the beginning of the year, of a fiscal year. Treasury Board at that time under this legislation may appropriate additional revenues to cover the difference until sufficient revenues are generated.

Interim supply Bills in April may be a thing of the past if clause 6 is implemented. If passed, it's my understanding that one-twelfth of the previous year's estimate for each department will be appropriated on April 1, and that will happen, Mr. Speaker, without any need for an interim supply Bill. It appears the only thing that might possibly necessitate an interim supply Bill would be new program funding, under this legislation. And this legislation also states that sums appropriated cannot exceed one-twelfth of the previous year's estimate. It appears interim supply may still be necessary in subsequent months. This is unclear, however, in the legislation.

The Bill makes some changes regarding electronic documentation and allows one department to charge another department for a provision of a service.

Mr. Speaker, with the ambiguities that are glaring in this Bill and the need for more clarification, I move to adjourn.

Some Hon. Members: Hear, hear!

The Speaker: — It has been moved by the member for Thunder Creek that debate on Bill No. 1 be now adjourned. Is it the pleasure of the Assembly to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: — Agreed.

The Speaker: — Motion is carried.

Debate adjourned.

The Speaker: — I recognize the Government House Leader.

Hon. Mr. Van Mulligen: — Thank you. Mr. Speaker, I move the House do now adjourn.

The Speaker: — It has been moved by the Government House Leader that this House do now adjourn. Is it the pleasure of the Assembly to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: — Agreed.

The Speaker: — Motion is carried. This House stands adjourned until tomorrow at 1:30 p.m.

The Assembly adjourned at 19:10.

EVENING SITTING	
ADJOURNED DEBATES	
SECOND READINGS	
Bill No. 1 — The Financial Administration Amendment Act, 2004	
Stewart	

CABINET MINISTERS

Hon. L. Calvert Premier

Hon. P. Atkinson Minister of Crown Management Board Minister Responsible for Public Service Commission

> Hon. J. Beatty Minister of Culture, Youth and Recreation Provincial Secretary

> > Hon. B. Belanger Minister of Northern Affairs

Hon. E. Cline Minister of Industry and Resources

Hon. J. Crofford Minister of Community Resources and Employment Minister Responsible for Disability Issues Minister Responsible for Gaming

Hon. D. Forbes Minister of Environment Minister Responsible for the Office of Energy Conservation

> Hon. D. Higgins Minister of Labour Minister Responsible for the Status of Women

> > Hon. J. Nilson Minister of Health Minister Responsible for Seniors

Hon. P. Prebble Minister of Corrections and Public Safety

Hon. F. Quennell Minister of Justice and Attorney General

> Hon. C. Serby Deputy Premier Minister of Rural Revitalization

Hon. M. Sonntag Minister of Aboriginal Affairs Minister of Highways and Transportation

Hon. L. Taylor Minister of Government Relations

Hon. A. Thomson Minister of Learning Minister Responsible for Information Technology

> Hon. H. Van Mulligen Minister of Finance

Hon. M. Wartman Minister of Agriculture and Food